Dearly Departed by Lia Habel, WOW & Quoted Again!


Dearly Departed by Lia Habel

Published October 18th 2011 by Del Rey

Add it to Goodreads

Purchase a copy: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

“Real ladies can give orders, Real gentlemen can take them, and Real zombies don’t eat brains.”

Love can never die.

Love conquers all, so they say. But can Cupid’s arrow pierce the hearts of the living and the dead—or rather, the undead? Can a proper young Victorian lady find true love in the arms of a dashing zombie?

The year is 2195. The place is New Victoria—a high-tech nation modeled on the manners, mores, and fashions of an antique era. A teenager in high society, Nora Dearly is far more interested in military history and her country’s political unrest than in tea parties and debutante balls. But after her beloved parents die, Nora is left at the mercy of her domineering aunt, a social-climbing spendthrift who has squandered the family fortune and now plans to marry her niece off for money. For Nora, no fate could be more horrible—until she’s nearly kidnapped by an army of walking corpses.

But fate is just getting started with Nora. Catapulted from her world of drawing-room civility, she’s suddenly gunning down ravenous zombies alongside mysterious black-clad commandos and confronting “The Laz,” a fatal virus that raises the dead—and hell along with them. Hardly ideal circumstances. Then Nora meets Bram Griswold, a young soldier who is brave, handsome, noble . . . and dead. But as is the case with the rest of his special undead unit, luck and modern science have enabled Bram to hold on to his mind, his manners, and his body parts. And when his bond of trust with Nora turns to tenderness, there’s no turning back. Eventually, they know, the disease will win, separating the star-crossed lovers forever. But until then, beating or not, their hearts will have what they desire.

In Dearly, Departed, romance meets walking-dead thriller, spawning a madly imaginative novel of rip-roaring adventure, spine-tingling suspense, and macabre comedy that forever redefines the concept of undying love.

Review

I really wanted to love this book! I had read so many great reviews. I can honestly say that I enjoyed the storyline, but the writing style at times had me confused.

The setting is the year 2195 and the world has gone back to the victorian ways in the way that they dress, travel and live. With the exception of their technology. It is far more advanced than ours today. The book starts off with Nora and her best friend, Pamma waiting to be picked up from school. While riding back, Nora is tormented by the wars that she is seeing on the computer screen in the buggy. Sure enough, the roads have been closed down and Nora ends up walking the rest of the way. A mysterious man approaches her and tells her that she is in danger. This starts the sequence of events.

I really enjoyed the different character personalities and fell desperately enamorate of Chas. She is a strong kick butt female whom does not let anyone push her around! I also enjoyed the way that Pamma had opened up and realized how strong of a young woman she could be. At the beginning of the book she was quiet and timid, but by the end, she was strong and willing to do whatever it takes to make it.

The one problem that I had found with the book was the many POVs. Normally, I love getting different POVs. It lets me see through the eyes of the other characters and get a well rounded view of all aspects of the story. However, the book had too many POVs and I had a tendancy to get very confused. It was hard to keep track of which POV I was in at which time.

The love affair was beautiful and I immediately fell in love with Bram. He was sweet and caring and really took his time with Nora all while trying to earn her trust.

I really did enjoy the storyline. This was a completely different take on zombies and you all know how much I love the zombie stories! After much experience, the second books in the series are usually much better than the first, so with that in mind, I very much look forward to reading the next one, Dearly, Beloved, to be published sometime in 2012.

“No, not really. But …” Okay, I couldn’t help but gloat
a little. “She likes me.”
Samedi didn’t even look at me. “Well of course, you’ve
had that bloody uniform on all day. I was half ready to
tell you how much I liked you.”

Waiting On Wednesday

Spellbound by Rachel Hawkins

Expected publication: March 13th 2012 by Hyperion Book CH

Add it to Goodreads

Pre-Order a copy at Amazon

Hailed as “impossible to put down,” the Hex Hall series has both critics and teens cheering. With a winning combination of romance, action, magic and humor, this third volume will leave readers enchanted. 

Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident. 

Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late?

The last book was left on such a cliff hanger, I am patiently waiting for this installment to come out!

Quoted

I am doing the happy dance…

I am very happy to tell you that I have been quoted on the back cover of

Beautiful Disaster by Jaime McGuire

Click HERE to read my review on the blog.

Thanks to Jude from In Between Writing and Reading for bringing it to my attention!

Thanks Jude:)

5 comments

  1. I loved Beautiful Disaster! I am really looking forward to reading it again but from Travis’ POV! That will be an awesome book. So cool to be quoted! Congrats! I’m happy when I see my quote on an authors website but on a book would be so cool! I have Dearly, Departed and I’m going to start in Feb 1 to read with our YABC group. It sounds awesome. I think I will like it. I am also waiting on Spell Bound. I love Sophie and Cal!

    Like

Talk to me!

