Beyond by TP Boje Review & Cover Reveal



Beyond (Afterlife 1) by TP Boje

Published September 9th 2011

Source- R2R

Add it to Goodreads

Purchase a copy at Amazon

Have you ever wondered where you go when you die?
Meghan is 16 when it happens to her.
She wakes up on a flying steamboat on her way to a school run by Angels in a white marble castle.
It is a school everybody has to go to before they are let into Heaven.
On the boat she meets Mick who has been dead for more than a hundred years but still looks like a teenager. He helps her past the difficult beginning at the new school in a new world.
One day some of Meghan’s roommates find a mirror in the cellar of the school and they persuade her to go through it with them – well knowing it is strictly against the rules of the school. Meghan ends up back on earth where she meets Jason. But Jason is in danger and Meghan know something important. Something that is a matter of life and death. Soon she is forced to choose between the two worlds. The one she belongs to now and the one she left.

Heather’s Review

I would like to thank the author and R2R for allowing me to review this title. I would love to report that I loved the book, although, I am not able to.

This book felt like middle grade rather than YA to me. I enjoyed the character of Mick. He was mysterious and interesting, but it was not enough to keep me reading. I could not get a feel for the main character of Meghan. I never really felt a connection to her.

I did enjoy the beginning where it felt like Meghan was opening with a story of her own. Explaining what had happened to her. I felt like this was an interesting opening and had high hopes. After that, the book just seemed to fall flat for me.

Needless to say, I could not finish the book. It did not hold my attention and I kept finding myself having to reread what I had just read.

I have read some really good reviews for this book and many people loved it. I guess it just was not one for me.

Diana’s Review

The premise of this book got my attention.  A school for those recently deceased.  What happens when you die?  Meghan is 16.  She wakes up on a flying boat, remembering nothing of her life or how she got there.  It was a very promising start.

Unfortunately, as I read my attention decreased.  The book reads like Harry Potter (or at least the first one, the only one I read).  A bunch of kids and their hijinx at their new school.  And that’s how I kept seeing the characters, as kids.  I actually forgot that Meghan and her friends were supposed to be 16.  In my mind they were closer to 12, and when kisses started popping up I had to do a double take.  Outside of the kissing and the death parts this book could be a cute story for a middle school audience.

My biggest issue with this book, however, was the editing.  The sentences were short and concise, not allowing for much description or flow.  And the dialogue didn’t contain any any apostrophes, for any of the characters.  Examples of dialogue:

“I will go first” she said.

“That sounds a bit dangerous.  Not knowing where we will end up,” I said anxiously.

“I have been doing nothing all of my life.”

Real people just don’t talk like that.

In the end I just couldn’t get past the editing to try to enjoy the story.  I got about 65% through after several tries, and then gave up.  I’ve noticed that this book had some pretty good reviews from other readers, so I fully accept that this book was just not me.  I encourage you to try it out for yourselves.

Cover Reveal

Tidal Whispers

by Jocelyn AdamsClaire GillianJulie ReeceKelly Said

Anthology Release Date: June 3, 2012 by J Taylor Publishing

add it to Goodreads

Heart’s Desire by Julie Reece

After a terrible accident, Tessa returns to her family beach house to heal. She doesn’t expect to see her first summer crush from seven years before. Cameron, though, reappears and ignites a relationship that’s far more intense than ever before. The only problem? Summer is once again coming to an end, and this time, Tessa will have to decide whether to choose life with Cameron or to never see him again.

The Sweetest Song by Claire Gillian

Under Poseiden’s rule, Circe is the most destructive siren in the Pacific ocean, her songs luring ships and their crew to their watery graves. Not Otis, the best halibut fisherman in the Alaskan waters. His ship, the Calypso, has avoided disaster each time Circe set her sights on him.

Given one last chance to deliver Otis to Davy Jones’ locker, Circe takes to land to waylay the handsome captain. Instead, it may be Otis himself who hooks the Siren.

Pearl of Pau’maa by Kelly Said

Should Miki choose to wed the local wealthy boy she doesn’t love, her stomach will stop grumbling. Her soul, however, will suffocate. With one last opportunity before she must concede, she sneaks off for a final dive to her hidden crate at the bottom of the seabed. What waits for her is more than a captured lobster. It’s a treasure she cannot claim without great sacrifice or true love.

The Undergarden by Jocelyn Adams

Nixie, a water sprite, lives a solitary existence as she struggles to understand the strange world beyond her waters.  When she meets one of the pink ones, a curious boy named Wyatt, their friendship blooms into a love that can exist only upon the sands that divide his solid ground from her underwater paradise. Some love, though, once born, cannot be undone, even in the face of death.

Talk to me!

