Eden by Janelle Stalder Review & Guest Post


Eden by Janelle Stalder

Published September 20th 2011 by iUniverse

Source-Author

Add it to Goodreads

Purchase a copy at Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Stuck in the cruel world of hormones and high school bullies, Aiden is convinced life has something more to offer. A stranger soon brings him to a world that co-exists alongside our own called Eden. Here he will learn to trust himself and those around him, as all of Eden finds itself on the brink of war. With the handsome rider Wolf, his sidekick Logan, and the beautiful archer Elisa at his side, Aiden will battle to save Eden and learn just what he is capable of.

Being the only girl in the King’s Army, and the Captain’s daughter, Elisa constantly feels the need to prove herself. It doesn’t help that she is betrothed to Wolf, who challenges her at every turn, and who she refuses to marry. With the new stranger, Aiden, now involved, Elisa finds her life even more confusing than ever.

Rose is a prisoner of the war, taken by the army from the North. Her captor, the exiled Prince Callum, intrigues her and terrifies her all at the same time. Now she must choose to either betray her heart, or the memory of her family.

Eden is packed full of romance, adventure, humour, and action.

Review

When I first starting reading this book, I had no idea of where the author was going with it. I really was not sure if I would even like it? But, I made it a third of the way in and got sucked into this alternate world created by Ms. Staldor. I quickly realized that this book was amazing and actually had a hard time putting it down.

Aiden is kind of a geek at his school. He has one friend, a girl he pines for and is pushed around by all the popular jocks. Never in his wildest dreams would he think that he would be the chosen one to help the land of Eden fight their war.

The world created by Janelle is absolutely mesmerizing and I just could not get  enough. I enjoyed all of the characters. I thought that they all meshed well together. The book was mostly from Aiden’s POV, but we got POV’s from others as well.

My favorite character is Callum. He is the prince that chose to leave the pallace and side with the enemy when his brother was given the throne. (I always did have a thing for the bad boys) Anyway, we get to spend a short time with him in this book and as a reader, I fell hoplessly in love with him. He is hurt and tormented with the decision that he had made. It is after he meets Rose that we get a glimpse into how wonderful and sweet he can really be.

This is how I picture Callum:

Not very muscular, but toned and mysterious!

The ending was bitter sweet and left the reader with many unanswered questions about all of Aiden’s friends in Eden. Ms. Stalder gives us a glimpse into Aiden’s world, but leaves a good set up for the next book with a small cliff hanger.

I cannot wait to get my hands on Janelle’s next book where the story continues, Eden-West.

Guest Post

I’d like to start off my guest blog with a big THANK YOU to the lovely Heather for asking me to be a part of this wonderful site. It means the world to me when people ask me to be more involved with their blogs, because I know how important they are. The big question Heather asked me to talk about was, “What advice would you give a young teen whom dreams of becoming an author?”. I actually get asked this a lot, and I always seem to reply with the same basic answer, READ! Although that it is just one thing I’d give for advice, but definitely the most important. As writers we are always growing. Our styles change, we figure out what works better for us and what doesn’t, and we slowly perfect our craft. I know I’m still trying to achieve this! The best way to help you grow is by reading. You can only learn so much in English class, which really just teaches you the theory of it all. When it comes down to actual writing you’re going to find that a lot of the “rules” you were taught can sometimes be bent or broken. It boils down to your style. When you look at someone like Moira Young, you’ll see that she breaks a whole lot of rules in her book, grammatically and spelling wise, but it works. It’s her style, and she kept it consistent. When you read books with sentences like “Oh.My.God.”, you know that it isn’t technically correct to have one worded sentences, but it is written that way for a purpose. It is showing the characters pause, and emphasis on each word. By reading you’re going to learn how proper sentences should look, but also what other people can do with them. You’ll start to see the style you enjoy reading more, whether it be more detailed and descriptive, or more sparse and to the point. You’ll learn the genre you enjoy more, because when you’re an author you should always write something you yourself would enjoy reading. You’ll also increase your vocabulary, which is beneficial for obvious reasons.

My second piece of advice is to not give up. Like any other entertainment industry, the literary world is a difficult one to get into, especially if you want to take the traditional publishing route. The major publishing houses we’re all familiar with have strict guidelines as to what they’ll even look at. Most will tell you to get an agent first, which seems easy enough, but let me tell you, it’s not. Even the agents are hard to get to even look at your work. They usually ask for an inquiry letter and sample, and most never get past that point. All that being said, it’s certainly not impossible, and I strongly support those young writers who take this route. You just have to be prepared to hear the word “no”, and don’t let that get you down. Do not be discouraged or second guess your work. We’re lucky these days because there is such a large community on the internet for writers and readers, and you should use this to your advantage. Sites like Goodreads and Authonomy help writers get their stories out to people who are willing to read it and give feedback. Kindel now makes it possible to self-publish your book at no cost if you go the ebook route. There are choices, and people didn’t necessarily have that back when there was only traditional printing.

My third, and last, piece of advice would be to keep writing! If you don’t get any response on a story, or you find that publishers aren’t interested, don’t let it stop you from writing. Take that story as something you can learn from, and move forward. Try to avoid any mistakes you might have made in the first story, and develop your style more. Just keep writing! Don’t ever stop because someone tells you they don’t like what you’ve done previously. You’re awesome and you know it, and no one can say differently.

Good luck and Happy Reading!

Janelle Stalder

Author of Eden

Thanks Janelle for everything, and no pressure, but

I NEED THE NEXT BOOK!

Quote Me Tuesday

“I’m not a chief. So you’re my replace, hmph.  Well, come on, we have work to do.  I’m not getting any younger,” he grumbles.

The Legacy of Kilkenny by Devyn Dawson

“I go to your school,” I said, jabbing a finger into his chest. “My name is Emily Webb. And you need to get out of my frickin’ way!”

Vesper by Jeff Sampson

“Hours passed and they were deeply involved in Mario Cart when Gabe groggily stumbled into the living room”.

Destined to Die Book 3, The Brookehaven Vampires by Jayme and Jodi Morse

“We were engaged in a very intricate dance of touching without touching, knowing without saying, and feeling without expressing. We were friends walking along a ledge, a very thin ledge and I was too caught up in my heightened awareness of his existence to realize how close the ledge was to crumbling beneath my feet.”

Reason to Breathe by Rebecca Donovan

One comment

Talk to me!

