Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler


Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

Narrated by Kristine Hvam

Source-Hachette Audio

Add it to Goodreads

Purchase a copy at amazon- Book|Audio Disc

I’m telling you why we broke up, Ed. I’m writing it in this letter, the whole truth of why it happened.

Min Green and Ed Slaterton are breaking up, so Min is writing Ed a letter and giving him a box. Inside the box is why they broke up. Two bottle caps, a movie ticket, a folded note, a box of matches, a protractor, books, a toy truck, a pair of ugly earrings, a comb from a motel room, and every other item collected over the course of a giddy, intimate, heartbreaking relationship. Item after item is illustrated and accounted for, and then the box, like a girlfriend, will be dumped.

Review

I cannot tell you how much I loved the story!

Let me just start out by saying that this is the second audiobook that I have listened to that was narrated by Ms. Hvam. Her voice is absolutely wonderful! The words come across crisp and clear, very understandable. She also has a great way of lowering her voice to distinguish between the male & female characters. My favorite part of the audiobook was the sound effects. Every time that Min threw something into the box, there was a special sound effect. It felt like you were sitting right next to her.

Min is writing a letter to Ed, explaining all the reasons why they broke up. She is spilling her heart out on every page and letting him know her inner most thoughts and feelings. Along with the letter, she is including all items that she had aquired during their relationship. As she explains each item and where it came from in the letter to Ed, she adds it to the box.

The storyline is fantastic! This is what every broken hearted girl dreams of doing. And what every girl in love actually does…collects stuff. I have always done this. (In my younger years of course!) But instead of a box, I would collect all kinds of paper things and wrappers and put them in a scrapbook. So, I was able to understand why Min was a collector of strange things. She loved Ed so much that she just wanted a momento from every moment that they had together!

I use to be a huge River Pheonix lover, but that is whom I picture when I think of Ed. A good looking smooth talker that knows how to make the girls swoon! I had a great love affair with Ed. I thought he was really sweet and kind. Until the end, when I felt as sad as Min. Then I understood exactly why they broke up!

Photobucket

I enjoyed Min a lot! She was very smart and sarcastic. She made me laugh all through out the book and had me looking forward to more of her story. She is not afraid to stand up for herself. I really liked that about her!

The other cast of characters were also a big part of the storyline. Ed’s sister, Joan, whom new what Ed was up to and you could just tell that she was feeling awful for Min. Al, Min’s best friend, that has absolutely “no opinion” on all sorts of issues.

Kirk Cameron as Al.

A little nerdy, but still cute.

Thanks to Hachette Audio for allowing me to review this title. I really enjoyed it! I am even considering purchasing the hard cover to keep on my shelves! I hope you enjoyed my review and a quick flashback to a couple of the 80’s heart throbs! I am a total 80’s nerd!

“There are so many movies like this, where you thought you were smarter than the screen but the director was smarter than you, of course he’s the one, of course it was a dream, of course she’s dead, of course, it’s hidden right there, of course it’s the truth and you in your seat have failed to notice in the dark.”

2 comments

Talk to me!

