Posted in 2012, February

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi


Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Published November 15th 2011 by Harper/HarperCollins

Add it on Goodreads

Purchase it on Amazon and BN

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war– and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

In this electrifying debut, Tahereh Mafi presents a world as riveting asThe Hunger Games and a superhero story as thrilling as The X-Men. Full of pulse-pounding romance, intoxicating villainy, and high-stakes choices, Shatter Me is a fresh and original dystopian novel—with a paranormal twist—that will leave readers anxiously awaiting its sequel.

Review

I’m a bit confused on how to review this book. I really felt like I was reading 2 different books. I can tell you exactly where I felt the book shifted into a completely different book, so this might have been completely intentional on the author’s part (though I don’t want to give you any spoilers so read the book and then we can discuss your thoughts ;-)).

The first thing that caught my attention when reading this book was the writing style. It’s written like you’re reading Juliette’s diary. The words were flowy and descriptive. It was very poetic and beautiful, but the poetry of the writing left me disconnected from the story and the characters. Juliette and Adam are great and all, but I wasn’t connected enough to them to be emotionally invested in their well being.

The one character that I did love, though, was Warner. He was written beautifully. The man is Psychotic with a capital P. In a sick and twisted way I could understand where he was coming from. He was definitely my favorite character.

The beginning of the book I thought was a little slow. Once the shift happened though, it really picked up. I found the second half hard to put down. And the ending took a turn I did not at all expect. I liked the ending, but I didn’t think it fit smoothly with the rest of the story. Like I said, it read like 2 different books. But once the pace picked up in the second half, I become more drawn to the main characters and started to fall for them. I will definitely be picking up the next book.

3 thoughts on “Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Shatter Me is one of those books that I couldn’t wait to read. Not only has it been incredibly hyped online, but it has an incredibly compelling concept and a great blurb that screams “Read me!” Being touted as the Hunger Games meets X-men, Shatter Me boasted some of the most unique marketing I’ve ever seen for a YA novel, despite its unknown author and not-incredibly-compelling cover. Being the dystopian nerd that I am, I was completely pulled in by the incredible blurb and was beyond exciting for this title.

    Shatter Me was strangely difficult for me to get into.. Firstly, Juliette spends much of the first half of the novel being completely obedient to the horrible regime that locked her away and seemed completely resigned to her terrible fate. It also doesn’t help that she spends far too much time feeling sorry for herself, calling herself a “monster” and dripping with angst. There were times I wanted to tell her to just get over it. Thankfully, throughout the novel Juliette’s adventures help to meld her into a stronger, better person who is more confident and empowered.

    I’ve also read some interesting reviews that have discussed how much they loved the writing style in Shatter Me. I’m not sure I like it -in fact, I was torn for much of the book. Most of the writing is done in stream-of-conscious style that really gets into Juliette’s head, but left me out of breath by the end of most sentences. It didn’t seem that polished or crisp to me. Again, this did get better as the book went on, but I wouldn’t rave about the writing style here. However, some sentences here were amazing emotional gems that really were beautiful.

    I wouldn’t call Shatter Me the best dystopian novel I’ve read this year, but it’s still worth reading. It’s certainly something different in the genre with a unique style approach that’s unlike anything else I’ve ever read. Recommended for fans of dystopian romance.

    Have a nice day,
    Sara

    Like

Talk to me!

