How To Date An Alien by Magan Vernon Review/Interview/Giveaway


How To Date An Alien by Magan Vernon

Published December 6th 2011 by CreateSpace

Add it to Goodreads

Purchase a copy at Amazon

Source: Author for review

High school senior Alex Bianchi’s estranged father gets her an internship at Circe Operations Center to pad her college applications. But Circe isn’t your typical military base. It’s an alien-run operation center and not all of the aliens are friendly, especially the one that tries to kill Alex on her first day. When Ace, a dark-eyed Caltian, enters and saves the day, she can’t help but be drawn to him. Can these star-crossed lovers survive when they’re on the brink of intergalactic war?

Review

I must say that I am very happy with this book! It actually blew me away. You know that they say to never judge a book by its cover and unfortunately, I always do. But, I am glad that I had read this one!

The book starts off with our heroine, Alex, sitting in an interview for Columbia University. She is trying to get a spot and the interviewer is not impressed with her extra curricular activities. She literally has none. Alex has always been the outcast at her school and focused more on her studies than joining clubs or sports teams. This is about the time that she decides that she would like to do an internship over the summer at Circe, which is the military base that her father works at. Little does she know that Circe is just not any ordinary base, but actually houses aliens from all different planets.

I enjoyed all of the characters especially Ace. Can I say swoooon? He is amazing and there is just something about those silent types that gets me every time. I think it is because we have to figure out what they are thinking and when they finally open up, we are obsessed already!

So this ladies, is how I picture Ace:

Photobucket

I had a feeling you all would like that:-)

Anyhoo, there is another guy whom is fighting for Alex’s affections and that is Gavin. Alex at first thinks Gavin is really cute, but, maybe not boyfriend material?

This is how I picture Gavin, I have no idea of whom this is, but chose him for the hair:

Photobucket

As for Alex, she is a very strong-willed little lady. She is tired of being pushed around by all the bullies at her school and she uses this experience as a chance to make up for it and stand up for herself.

I cannot express how much I really enjoyed this book!

I will try to be patient while waiting for the next book in the series, How To Break Up With An Alien, to come out in June 2012. If you love romance with a little twist of paranormal, this series is for you!

Interview

When did you decide you wanted to be a writer?

 Oh geeze, I guess I’ve always loved writing and telling stories while growing up as an only child with an over-active imagination. But after I graduated college I decided to try my hand at writing a full-length novel in hopes of publication.

 Why did you pick the paranormal genre?

 I feel like it kind of chose me. I started out writing contemporary and it just didn’t flow like How to Date an Alien. Once I started writing paranormal I couldn’t stop! Now I’m not sure if I will ever be able to write a contemporary piece again!

 Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

 Writer-wise I hope to have the entire My Alien Romance series out and hopefully atleast three more titles. I would love to have my name mentioned in EW, but that is a pretty big dream.

 If your book was turned into a movie, whom would you cast as the main character, if it was your choice?

 The problem with Hollywood is that there are too many cookie cutter actresses. They are all attractive, skinny, model figure, and all that nonsense. I’m not saying my main character isn’t pretty, but she definitely isn’t cookie cutter. If I had to pick someone to play Alex it would probably be either Melissa Farman (she plays Bristol Palin in the Sarah Palin biopic) or Mae Whitman from Scott Pilgrim.

 When you are not writing, what do you enjoy doing?

I have an 8 month old little girl so she keeps me pretty busy. But other than that I spend a lot of time reading. I’m currently reading Rashelle Workman’s debut novel ‘Exiled,’ and I’m enjoying the science fiction elements.

 What is next on your agenda? Any new books on the horizon??

Book number 2 in the My Alien Romance series will be out this Spring/Summer. I’m not releasing the title yet, but expect an announcement within in the next month or two.

Speed Round:

 

  1. Favorite Book?  Shine by Lauren Myracle or Fifteen Minutes by Jodi Piccoult
  2. Favorite Author? Nicholas Sparks, Sarah Dessen, and Jodi Piccoult
  3. Favorite genre to read? Romance- I like love stories.
  4. Favorite genre to write? Science fiction.
  5. Favorite place to read? In my recliner, with a cup of coffee in one hand and my Ipad in the other.

Giveaway 

Rules:

1. Winner will be chosen using Random.org on March 1st.

2. One winner from the USA will receive a paperback copy of the book and one winner internationally will win an ebook copy.

3. Must be a follower.

4. Please fill out the form below:

Thank you to Magan for the interview and hosting the giveaway!

8 comments

  1. @ Emma, the book did remind me a little of Roswell. I am assuming that you are talking about the show??? It was a great show!

    @Magan, I Yes, I could see Adam Lambert for ACE…I never would have thought of him! I am glad that you enjoyed the review:)

    @Mags, Your Welcome, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

    -Heather

    Like

  2. The cover is so sweet, the story is very beautiful and the pictures of characters are amazing. I really like Ace.
    Thank you for the giveaway!

    Like

Talk to me!

