Posted in 2012, February

Touch Of Power by Maria V. Snyder


Touch Of Power by Maria V. Snyder

Published December 20th, 2011 by Mira

Add on Goodreads

Purchase on Amazon and BN

Laying hands upon the injured and dying, Avry of Kazan absorbs their wounds and diseases into herself. But rather than being honored for her skills, she is hunted. Healers like Avry are accused of spreading the plague that has decimated the Fifteen Realms, leaving the survivors in a state of chaos.

Stressed and tired from hiding, Avry is abducted by a band of rogues who, shockingly, value her gift above the golden bounty offered for her capture. Their leader, an enigmatic captor-protector with powers of his own, is unequivocal in his demands: Avry must heal a plague-stricken prince—leader of a campaign against her people. As they traverse the daunting Nine Mountains, beset by mercenaries and magical dangers, Avry must decide who is worth healing and what is worth dying for. Because the price of peace may well be her life…

Review

The plague has spread wiping out millions of people, and healers are being blamed.  Despite the fact that they’ve been helping people for generations, taking people’s symptoms of illnesses and injuries upon themselves to save their fellow townsfolk, they are now being hunted and killed virtually on the spot.  Avery has been on the run for over 3 years, but her natural urge to heal overpowers her.  She heals a child, and is therefore caught.  The night before her execution she’s “rescued” and subsequently taken prisoner by a band of men who want to use her for their own gains.  What follows is the twists and turns of a story where Avery is a powerful political pawn.  Which side will she choose, and will she make it out of this alive?

I love me a good fantasy.  Kings, swords, forests, and magic.  What’s not to love?  The story telling and world building were wonderful.  I fully got sucked into the story, if for no other reason than the characters.

Avery – A very realistic, every day heroine, you know, outside of the whole magic healing thing.  She’s caring, but strong, standing up to herself and those who need it.  She’s smart and logical and not easy to take advantage of.  I liked that she didn’t start as a superwoman, but that she was taught self defense throughout the book, so that she didn’t end up some helpless damsel in distress either.

Kerrick – I have to admit, he was not an easy character to love.  Kind of an ass, and not in a way I appreciated.  I know he had his reasons, but trying to like him strained me.

Belan – Poppa Bear.  Big, kind, lovable protector.  I loved him right from the start.

Quinn, Loren, Flea – I’m grouping them together since they’re more of secondary characters, but I was a big fan.  I would totally love to be captured by them 😉

Ok, dislikes: I didn’t love that I felt the story was a little predictable.  My mind is sometimes uncontrollable, and though I try not to guess the endings, I often times can’t help it.  Though there were a ton of twists and turns, I was able to guess at a lot of them too easily for my liking.  The book left me with a lot of questions, which I guess is perfect since there’s a book 2 coming out next year.

Oh, I must add that there’s not a ton of romance in the book, so beware for the romantically needing, though there is some.  Its more of a romantic tease, and I love me a good tease.

I will most definitely be picking up the next one.

One thought on “Touch Of Power by Maria V. Snyder

Talk to me!

