Posted in 2012, March

My Enchanted Life by Laura Eno


My Enchanted Life by Laura Eno

Published December 5th, 2011 by Createspace

Add on Goodreads

Purchase on Amazon

An American teen finds herself thrust into a world she never knew existed in England’s magical community of Wode Gate. While dealing with gnomes, a cranky dragon, murder and mayhem, Emma tries to cope with her unwanted duties as Sentinel and fights to get back home again.
She finds that things aren’t always what they seem, people aren’t who they pretend to be, and someone wants her dead. The king of the underworld wants her too, but he may be the least of her problems as Emma struggles to control her powers—while losing her heart to a demon.

Review

Emma is just a regular girl until she gets a mysterious letter telling her that her uncle from England has passed away and she inherited his house. When she goes to check out the house on what she thinks will be a fun vacation to England, she discovers that the town isn’t a normal town, and that she isn’t who she thinks she is.

The book had potential. It was a light and easy read with a cute story. Unfortunately, there wasn’t much depth to it. There was very little world building or character building. Emma’s job is supposed to be sentinel to the gate. I’m still not sure what the gate is supposed to do, how evil gets through it (I’m guessing that’s what she’s supposed to be protecting against), or what the evil purposes would be for someone who went through the gate. In the same sense, I’m not really sure how she’s supposed to guard the gate, as she didn’t really do any guarding. Most of the story was just her meeting different townspeople or going on adventures.

My ability to connect to the character is strongly correlated with how much I’ll like the book. Honestly, we were introduced to most of the characters so quickly that I didn’t even remember who was who. I’d say I kept flipping back to remind myself, but I didn’t really care enough to do so and so I just continued reading till I figured it out. And the relationships between the characters felt forced and not believable.

I would recommend this book for younger kids, maybe middle school age. It just wasn’t for me.

One thought on “My Enchanted Life by Laura Eno

Talk to me!

