Posted in 2012, March

The Hunger Games Movie, My POV


So, Me, My 2 daughters and My favorite Aunt Nadine went to see the movie on Friday night. I had ordered our tickets ahead of time through Fandango.com. The theater was actually very crowded, I was surprised and figured that all the die hards would come out on Thursday night for the midnight showings.

I thought the movie itself was great and even better if you had not read the books. My aunt had not read them and she just adored the movie. I was slightly disappointed. They left some minor details out, but they were ones that I was looking forward to. Like Katniss getting the mockingjay pin. Also, I am a HUGE movie quote buff and they left out some of Peeta’s famous quotes!

“You here to finish me off, Sweetheart?”

Missing:(

As for the characters,

Jennifer did a wonderful job with Katniss. She was rough and tough, but you could still tell that she was scared to death.

I was looking forward to Woody playing Haymitch. He did a good job, but I didn’t think they gave him enough to really play up the character. He was a little flat.

Josh was a great Peeta!!! He brought the character more to life than what we read in the books. I was able to get more of a feel for him from the movie.

We do not see too much of Gale in this movie and I look forward to the next one. Every once in a while, they would show a glimpse of him watching the games at home. These are the times that I felt bad for him even though I am Team Peeta all the way!

Cinna was played perfectly! The friendship between Katniss and Cinna was perfect. Lenny was able to capture the calmness in Cinna that had helped Katniss through the beginning stages of the games.

Photobucket

Effie. I really enjoyed the look and the feel of the Capitol. The costumes were great with all the outrageous outfits and the bright colors!

And lastly, Prim…Prim was portrayed perfectly. The little sister that looks up to her older sister and cannot imagine life with out her!

The best scene…Which left not a dry eye in the place:

I am really looking forward to the next movie. Catching Fire was my favorite book out of all three! What did all of you think? Any comments??

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

5 thoughts on “The Hunger Games Movie, My POV

  1. Great recap and I love all the pictures you chose. I liked the movie a lot and am already planning to see it again. I think you’re right that non-book readers may like it more because they will be more surprised and also won’t be disappointed when favorite quotes/scenes are not included.

    I really liked that they showed the gamemakers behind the scenes and also the riot in district 11. Josh H. really was great. Haymitch was a big disappointment to me. It’s a bummer that they didn’t leave Madge in the movie – the mockingjay pin was handled very strangely.

    Still, overall I was really pleased and can’t wait to see Catching Fire 🙂

    Like

    1. Agreed. I was surprised that they left Madge out too. The pin seemed like such an important piece of the book. The riot was great, but I was disappointed that they didn’t show how appreciative District 11 was that they sent Katniss a gift. Same here, I was over all pleased with it!!!

      -Heather

      Like

Talk to me!

