Posted in 2012, March, Quote me tuesday

Hide & Seek Blog Tour Review/Character Interview and QMT


Hide & Seek by Aimee Laine

Published March 1st 2012 by J. Taylor Publishing

Add to Goodreads

Purchase a copy at Amazon

Source: Publisher

Lie, cheat or steal, no one can catch Tripp Fox. Except one woman.

Lexi Shepherd’s knack for finding whatever is asked of her isn’t sheer luck. It’s a gift from the Greek god Zeus.

That Lexi doesn’t use her ability to search for “Mr. Right” comes from one of many personal rules she has set for herself. Number one is not to let fate dictate her future.

Falling in love with Tripp breaks all the others.

Despite her principles, Lexi’s unable to stay away from the bad boy, and she finds herself toeing the grey line of the law for him.

Zeus, though, didn’t give Lexi and Tripp their talents to make their relationship a simple, easy alliance. He designed it to be exactly the opposite. Impossible. Always.

With their separation, Lexi expects Tripp to forfeit love in favor of destiny. He, on the other hand, intends to beat Zeus at his own game. With a plan in place, Tripp challenges Lexi to take the one action no one else can.

Find him.

The question isn’t can she … but will she?

Review

I love the myth associated with this story, the fox and the hound. This was very unique and different that the story kept me reading straight through til the end!

I enjoyed all the characters. Judging by the cover, you could probably tell which one I enjoyed the most though??? YUP! Tripp. He is finally willing to let his guard down for Lexi.

I really enjoyed Lexi’s sister, Emma. She was bouncy and full of life. She was not in the practice of letting Lexi sulk and I liked that about her! Lexi and Emma are twins and literally, exact opposites which makes for some funny reading.

Originally, it was the cover that pulled me into this story, but when I started reading, the story itself had sucked me in. I do not see any written word about book 2 as of yet, but I cannot wait for it!

Character Interview with Tripp

There’s never a better place to meet an art thief, treasure hunter or mythologically enhanced than at a public library. Right? Or is that just a cop out because I know that if his new wife found us at a coffee shop, restaurant or … anywhere for that matter, the scene probably wouldn’t be pleasant.

So I’ll stick to my chair here, Greek mythology book in hand, waiting for the adorable Tripp Fox to stroll my way.

“Are you Heather?” A deep voice asks.

I lift up, so engrossed in my book I didn’t realize I hadn’t been looking for him. “I am,” I say and start to stand.

He plops down beside me in the chair attached to mine, long legs clad in jeans, extending out and crossed at his ankles. “So … you have some questions?”

I close my book and turn to him.

His arms are outstretched along the chair’s arms, solid muscle bunching as he shifts toward me.

“So … I understand you’re one-half of mythologically destined pair.”

He nods, the star on his neck creasing a little as he moves. “I think Lexi would like your designation as one-half.” He chuckles a little.

“Did you ever think you’d be one of those people to find the impossible and find a loop hole?”

He shakes his head. “Never, ever did I think that. Never thought I’d be living in the south, either.”

“That’s right … you’re born and bred New York, right? What do you think about all the southern hospitality?”

His lips curve up. “Given it comes in Lexi form, it’s quite nice.”

My cheeks heat up at the insinuation and his tone of voice. He clearly loves his wife. “Okay, so … tell me about this myth. A fox and a hound? Why would Zeus do that?”

He points to the book I’m holding. “Have you read some of the stuff Zeus does? He may have been the most powerful, but he was the most insane, too. I think he derived most of his pleasure from testing people.”

“And what better way than to use the ultimate paradox on humans?” I ask.

“Exactly. There’s no way to get around it … yet just like in the history books — where Zeus decided to end the conundrum by sending the fox and hound to the star, or turning them to stone as some believe — there’s always a solution when the fox and hound decide to turn the tables on Zeus.”

“So it was a game?”

He chuckles and says, “Yup. One, amazingly, devious game.” He sits up taller, voices and chatter all around us. “Have you ever played tic-tac-toe?”

I smile. “Who doesn’t.”

He wags a finger at me. “You know how tic-tac-toe can be both super easy to win, but incredibly difficult, too?”

“Yes.” And I do. It’s a great time waster.

“If you make one wrong move, you’re sunk. If you do everything right, you draw. If your opponent fails to pay attention, you can win. That’s a Zeus-based game. You have to both not make a wrong move and your opponent has to stop paying attention. It all has to line up, just like the stars.”

He’s kinda lost me, but I nod and just agree.

When he sits back in the chair, facing out so I can see his profile, he says, “Yeah, it’s complicated. Let’s just say … every problem has a solution, but sometimes, the solutions aren’t what you expect they will be.”

“Very astute words. So … plans for the future? Any kids on the horizon?”

A small laugh bursts from him. “I’m sure Lexi has major plans. That woman had her whole life planned, mapped out even.” He swipes a hand across the plateau of air in front of him. “I came in and screwed her all up.” He turns to me and with a wink says, “Pun intended.”

Ha-Ha, I want to say but just smile.

“Anyway, what else do you want to know?”

So many questions come to mind. “What was your favorite adventure … you know, with your ability to get stuff without consequences?”

He faces the crowd. “Well …” One hand reaches up and scratches at his chin, the rough stubble shadowing a well planed face. “Finding Lexi and winning her will always be my most successful venture.”

“And beyond that?”

Turning back to me, he says, “Well … honestly, it’s probably going to be every other venture we go on together.”

I want to melt into the mush of his sappiness, but I already know he’s a true romantic — for a guy.

“And we’re going down to Bermuda next month.”

“Bermuda? The triangle? Where everything gets lost?”

“Oh yeah.” He smiles. “Wouldn’t that be a tremendous adventure if neither of us can fail? We could find Amelia Earhart.”

Now that … I’d love to see.

Special thanks to Aimee for introducing us to Tripp and to J. Taylor Publishing for the review copy of this book!

QMT

“It was her way- a habit born of shyness, fueled by betrayal, and necessitated by life in a city like New York. Some people watched soap operas, she just watched people.”
Letters from the ledge by Lynda Meyers
_________________________________________________________________
“Thankful that it was winter and that she’d actually purchased a turtleneck when she’d shopped for work clothes she’d just have to get creative the first week of work.”
Noah by Elizabeth Reyes
Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

3 thoughts on “Hide & Seek Blog Tour Review/Character Interview and QMT

  1. This was a great interview. And I’ve never heard of this book before, but now its on my TBR list and as soon as I can get a copy of it I’m all over it. Thanks ladies for introducing me to a new book!

    That is one mighty fine cover!

    Like

Talk to me!

