Posted in Uncategorized

The Briar Creek Vampires


Kiss of Death (The Briar Creek Vampires Book 1)

Jayme Morse and Jody Morse

Published August 10th 2011 by Createspace

Add it at Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon and B & N

 Source: Purchased

Goodreads Blurb:

For Young Adults: Sixteen year-old Lexi Hunter is just an ordinary teenager wishing that her life could be as exciting as a reality tv show when her mom receives a phone call with the news that Lexi’s cousin, Austin, was killed. She and her mom return to Briar Creek, the town that they left ten years ago, never looking back.

During their stay, Lexi falls head-over-heels for Gabe, the dark and mysterious guy who lives across the street and goes to the same high school that Austin went to. Lexi’s Aunt Violet and Uncle Tommy insist on her staying away from him due to his violet behavior and instead urge her to pursue a relationship with Dan, Austin’s best friend.

In an effort to learn more about the cousin she barely knew, Lexi snoops through Austin’s belongings. Soon, she begins to uncover puzzling details that make her believe that Austin wasn’t really attacked by an animal the night he was killed – details that may already be putting her own life in danger.

My Review:

I really discovered a gem when I came across this series.  It is now one of my all time favorites!

Lexi Hunter and her mother are headed back to the town of Briar Creek  after they receive a call that her cousin Austin has been killed.   It has been 10 years since Lexi and her mom left Briar Creek.  Lexi starts to notice some very strange things going on around her and begins her own investigation into the death of her cousin.  Some things just don’t add up and makes her form more questions rather than answers.  The aunt and uncle are pushing Lexi to spend time with Dan, Austin’s best friend.  What is up with that and is Dan really on the up and up?

Then we have Gabe……..insert swoon here…….who is the mysterious neighbor who lives across the street from Lexi’s aunt and uncle with his mother.  Lexi starts to fall for him but of course her aunt and uncle tell her to stay away from him that he is nothing but trouble.  I don’t know about you but that just makes me want someone more.  Lexi is not much different in this situation.  He intrigues her too much!

This book was a great start to the series and I would highly recommend it to everyone.  I would love to hear feedback so I can pass it on to the authors.  And talk about cliffhanger! WOW…..and I will leave it at that.

I give this book………………

Thicker Than Water (The Briar Creek Vampires Book 2)

Jayme Morse and Jodi Morse

First published October 19th 2011

Add it on Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon and B & N

Source: Purchased

Goodreads blurb: 

There’s something strange going on in Briar Creek. Everyone’s been quiet lately…too quiet. Lexi’s fate was determined before she even arrived in Briar Creek at the beginning of the summer, and it was far more deadly than she ever could have imagined.

My Review:

Book two basically picks up where book one ends.  Lexi may be making a friend or two and Gabe is…….? hmmmm.  She has started school and even has a part time job as a life guard.  Her investigation into Austin’s death continues (which raises more questions) and she is spending a little more time with Dan??????  Her aunt and uncle are still insisting that he would be better for her.  It appears that she may have someone that is trying to help her and may have someone following her.  The ending to this one may just have beat the first book! LOL Enjoy!

The mysteries continue with the second book and it is just as intriguing as the first book.  You will not be disappointed!

 And of course……..

Destined to Die (The Briar Creek Vampires Book 3)

Jayme Morse and Jodi Morse

Published January 28th 2012

Add it at Goodreads

Purchase at Amazon and B & N

This book was gifted to me from the authors. 

Thanks guys!

Goodreads blurb:

When Lexi finds herself standing face-to-face with her cousin, Austin, who she believed to be dead, everything in her worlds turns upside down. Escaping Briar Creek and the vampires in it is only the first step that she must take to ensure her own safety. She still has many obstacles ahead of her and secrets to uncover before she can change her fate.

My Review:

Now on to book three.  I think it just gets better and better!  The action starts almost immediately so get comfortable.  In book three, you learn a few interesting things about Lexi and the ones who are trying to protect her.  She must find a way to  finally escape Briar Creek and you will not believe who is trying to help her!  Lexi is scared to death and doesn’t know who she can trust.  She finds herself having to trust some very unlikely people ( well, maybe just one or two….lol) but she may not have a choice.

We learn a bit more about the history of Briar Creek in this book and why Lexi has become so important to the vampires.  As the blurb from Goodreads says…..Lexi is going to have to clear some more hurdles in order to try and change her fate.  I am really looking  forward for the next installment in this series!

I have always loved the character development throughout these books and you will not be disappointed!  Enjoy and leave some feedback!  I would love to pass it on to the authors!

Again I give this book……..

4 thoughts on “The Briar Creek Vampires

  1. Hi I agree with everything u say about these books. I love the series, totally readable without being too heavy, tho they are indepth they arnt hard work reads. Only thing I wish is that I could find out when book4 is available. I’m sure it’s the last in the series but I can’t find out its title or release date. If u know could you emil me. 911jayne@gmail.com. Thanks so much if you can help. Jay.

    Like

    1. Hi Jayne! Thanks so much for your comment. I agree with you 100%! I too am not sure when the fourth book will be available or the title. I will see and forward the information if I can!

      Lisa

      Like

    1. Hi Valeria! I am so glad you have enjoyed this series! I am not 100% on the 4th book yet but I am keeping my eye out. I will mostdefinitively be reviewing when available!.

      Thanks Lisa

      ________________________________

      Like

Talk to me!

