Five by Christie Rich


Five by Christie Rich

Published by August 10, 2011

Add on Goodreads

Purchase it on Amazon

Rayla Tate was just a child when her mother disappeared from her life forever. Raised by her aunt Grace in a small town, she has lived an extremely sheltered life. Unknown to her, she was hidden from the fae who live secretly among us. Descended from an ancient blood-line of Elementals, only she has the power to crown the first fae high-king.

Sick of provincial living and the dictates of her aunt, Rayla flees the safety of her home and runs away to college with her best friend. Unfortunately, excitement over her newfound freedom is short-lived when she finds herself being chased by a mysterious stranger on her way to school. She is drawn to him immediately; however, she somehow manages to resist the compulsion she feels. As he disappears into the night, she is certain he hasn’t gone far.

Rayla struggles to deal with the encounter while adapting to her new environment. To make matters worse, Aunt Grace reveals that Rayla will be hunted by a pack of fae lords, each hoping to claim her power for his own. She soon finds herself surrounded by stunning men. Could they be fae, or is this just normal college life? More importantly, why does she feel drawn to each one of them? What dark power do they hold over her? She must quickly learn to fend off these beautiful and seductive pursuers using whatever means necessary or find herself lost to the fae world forever.

Review

Rayla is trying to escape her small town life by going to a good school half a country away, against her aunt’s wishes.  But as soon as she leaves the safety of her home, things start happening.  Before she knows it she’s thrown into the world of the fae, with fae lords after her, because she’s supposedly an elemental, something she knows nothing about.

I loved the first 60% of the book.  In the last 40%, the plot started to come together, but not in the way I would have liked.  I’m going to start with the bad so I can end with the good.  I thought the big reveals were a little quick.  The book started to speed by just where I wanted more meat.  I could have done with a little more development, since I felt that was the most important part of the book.  Another part I wasn’t too keen on was that everyone seemed very quick to trust.  For example, one of the characters wasn’t who she appeared, and she just came out and told Rayla everything.  Why?  They barely knew each other.  I couldn’t buy into it.  And of course this book had a love triangle.  And yes, I have come across the occasional love triangle that didn’t bother me as much, but this one felt forced.  Rayla knew these men for all of a heartbeat and she was ready to bind herself to one of them forever?  A strong heroine, I feel, would have fought to get away, not fought to choose.  What happened to “I am woman, hear me roar”?  A true, strong heroine doesn’t need a man to define her.  She doesn’t just accept that she’s going to be bound to one of them.  She fights to stay herself.

The best part of the book was the men.  Fae are always portrayed as the hottest men that you just can’t stop staring at.  Even though I wasn’t keen on the love triangle, I loved the description of the men, and I enjoyed watching them try to win Rayla over.

I don’t want to give descriptions or bios for our leading men since I don’t want to give anything away, so just enjoy the eye candy.

 

Finn – the sweet Irish lord

Taylor – the Latin Lover

Jett- Dangerous dark chocolate

Luke – Golden boy

Zach – Love the dark hair, light eyes look

I recommend this book for fae lovers who are fans of love triangles.

One comment

Talk to me!

