Posted in 2012, April, Book Tours, Waiting on wednesday

Fact or Fiction Blog Stop (Whisper) by Heather Hildenbrand & WOW


Whisper by Heather Hildenbrand

Published April 19th 2012 by Accendo Press

Add to Goodreads

Purchase a copy at Amazon

Source: Author

The Cherokee believe when a person dies, their soul is reborn. Life is repeated. An endless cycle of lessons to be learned, love to be found, destiny to be fulfilled. For the past six months, in every flower, every bird, I’ve imagined my parents, relieved of their human forms.

Now, after five months at the Skye View Wellness Center, it was summer. A time for parties and friends, but that’s the last thing I want to do. So when my best friend Erin convinces me to attend a bonfire at Eagle Point, I can’t handle the crowd full of sympathetic stares or drunken class clowns who would use my tragedy as a way into my heart – or my pants. The solitude of the woods offers an escape, until I stumble upon a boy, unconscious and bleeding, his pockets stuffed not with identification but with poetry illustrating the beauty of dying. I’ve seen enough death. I will not leave this boy’s side.

Even after he wakes, when the only thing he can remember are visions of events that haven’t happened yet…

Review

I stood on the porch, trying not to look at the police cruisers parked in the driveway. And when I did look at them, I tried not to let the memories come. But that was like trying to stop water with your hands. Enough of it got through that you were going to get wet.

As I expected, I was totally engrossed in this book until the very end. I absolutely love Heather’s writing style and anytime she comes out with new work, I have to read it!

I must say that the feelings that I had in the beginning of the book were very dark and sad. When Whisper explains all that has happened to her surrounding her parent’s accident, I could not help but tear up. Heather uses such powerful words that I found my heart breaking for Whisper.

Whisper is a great character. She is a lot stronger than she thinks she is and I think by the end of the book, she was learning that! Dylan, oh sweet Dylan! Who would not love him? He is sweet and caring. Although, there were a couple of times throughout the book that I wondered what the heck he was up to? I know what he did was all for Whisper, but, geesh, give a girl a break.

I really enjoyed the Cherokee aspects of the book and I liked learning about the different legends. The rituals were very interesting and it made me want to research into it further.

All in all, I can say that it did not take me long to finish reading. It captivated my attention and I used every free moment to keep going. I am definitely looking forward to the next in the series!

“How would you know I was there?” His gaze locked on mine and I stilled, barely able to breathe. All trace of laughter disappeared from his expression. His stare was heavy to the point of paralyzing. “My soul would recognize you and wake me.” His voice was gravelly and low, barely above a whisper, but it filled my ears and raced straight to my heart. I felt a keen familiarity with this moment and with Dylan himself. It was more than déjà vu. It was something inside me recognizing something inside him.

Fact or Fiction?

Eagle as the symbol for messenger clans

Fact. The eagle is widely represented throughout history as a messenger, especially in Native American culture. Some tribes used animals to represent the different clans within. The Iroquois also used animals to identify clans, including hawk, bear, and beaver. The Cherokee used the eagle. Specifically, the Golden Eagle. Eagle feathers are considered symbols of respect and honor, which is why so many Chiefs wore them in ceremonies and special occasions
Fact: Did you know eagle feathers are illegal to own in the United States unless you are a member of a registered Native American tribe?
All of this is super-interesting, but… I think my favorite “eagle” is the one Channing Tatum starred in last year 😉
#wanttolickhispecs
#especially here
Heather Hildenbrand

Giveaway

Win an ecopy of Whisper, just fill out the form…

Winner will be chosen by Random.org on Monday, April 30, 2012

WOW

Once by Anna Carey

Expected publication: July 3rd 2012 by Harper Collins

Add it to Goodreads

Sixteen years have passed since a deadly virus wiped out most of the Earth’s population. After learning of the terrifying part she and her classmates were fated to play in the rebuilding of New America, eighteen-year-old Eve fled to the wilds and Califia, a haven for women determined to live outside the oppressive rule of the king of New America. However, her freedom came at a price: she was forced to leave Caleb, the boy she loves, wounded and alone at the city gates. Eve quickly learns that Califia may not be as safe as it seems and soon finds herself in the City of Sand and the palace of the king. There she uncovers the real reason he was so intent on her capture, and the unbelievable role he intends her to fill. When she is finally reunited with Caleb, they will enact a plan as daring as it is dangerous. But will Eve once again risk everything—her freedom, her life—for love?

Brimming with danger and star-crossed romance, and featuring a vivid dystopian landscape, this electrifying follow-up to Eve, which bestselling author Lauren Kate called “a gripping, unforgettable adventure—and a fresh look at what it means to love” is sure to appeal to fans who crave the high-stakes adventure of The Hunger Games and the irresistible love story of Romeo and Juliet.

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

2 thoughts on “Fact or Fiction Blog Stop (Whisper) by Heather Hildenbrand & WOW

Talk to me!

