Posted in 2012, Book Tours, May

Sweet Blood Of Mine Blog Tour!!!!


Sweet Blood Of Mine by John Corwin

Published April 26th 2012 by Raven House

Source: Author

From Mega Nerd to Super Stud.

Justin Case and women do not mix. Man boobs, a love of Kings and Castles, and being tight with the “nerd” crowd certainly don’t win him any points either. After rescuing Katie, his crush, it turns out she might not be the girl he thought she was, while Elyssa, the school’s Goth Girl, turns out to be more. Can high school get any more confusing?

Determined to improve himself, he joins a gym and meets a sexy girl that just oozes a “come hither, Justin” vibe. Until she attacks him in the parking lot, and Justin realizes she’s no ordinary girl but a being with supernatural speed and strength. After a narrow escape and an excruciating migraine headache, he wakes up with supernatural abilities all his own: speed, strength, and the ability to seduce every woman he sees.

While that might sound like the perfect combo for any hormonal teen, Justin is a hopeless romantic who wants his first time to be special. Is that too much to ask for? But he doesn’t know what he is or how to stop his carnal urges. One thing is clear: If he doesn’t find answers there are other more sinister supernaturals who would like nothing better than to make him their eternal plaything and do far worse than kill him.

Heather’s Review

“I was falling for Elyssa and my track record with girls looked like a zombie apocalypse.”

John Corwin has a way of writing a character and making them laugh out loud funny! The beginning of the book seemed a little slow to me, but, I was able to keep reading and it soon picked up. This book is literally hilarious! I loved the character of Justin Case.

“Nothing could make me pull away meat-market love goddess. My sexy little filet mignon”

I really enjoyed the fact that Justin is just a regular person and we see small changes in him. I also enjoy getting a male POV. Admit it ladies, sometimes it is nice to actually see into their heads all their thoughts and fears!  This book had a very real feel to it. The characters could be people that we have known in high school or even in the work place.

“Bryan helped me up.  “How can you be so good one minute then clumsy the next?”
I shrugged.  “I’ve never been very athletic.  Not unless you count fencing.”
“You made fences?”

After reading this book, I am so excited for the sequel. I hope that each and every one of you give this one a chance, you will not be sorry! I wasn’t!!!

Diana’s Review

This book was not at all what I expected.  I know I could have guessed that just by reading the blurb and all, but even after reading the blurb I still think I was expecting the average YA paranormal novel.  This wasn’t it.  I mean, talk about a loser.  Justin starts the book as a pudgy nerd who spends his free time beating up other nerds with foam swords in nerdy live action battles.  I can honestly say that this is not someone I would expect to see as a protagonist for a kick ass, action packed book.  But at the same time, you can’t help but love him.

Not only am I giving the author an A for originality (I have never read a book with a premise quite like this one) but I’m giving him an A for carrying out the whole “don’t judge a book by its cover” moral as well.  I love to see a YA book that carries a good message, but its not a message that’s hammered into you.  Its just there.  And you can’t help but pick it up due to your love of the characters.  I loved reading a book with a male lead, written my a male author (so basically, a believable male lead).  And the male lead is an average guy (well, he starts pretty average anyway).  And not like a boy-next-door-i’m-so-cute-but-i-don’t-know-i’m-cute lead.  A seriously average guy.  Basically, I thought the whole premise was very refreshing.

The book did have some slow points though.  In building the character and showing us just how average he was, the start of the book dragged a little.  And it dragged again when there were pages of football talk.  I know this might be exciting for football fans, but as someone who can’t stand the sport, I had to skim through some of those parts.

Overall, I thought this was a highly original book and I’ll be looking forward to the next in the series.

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

Talk to me!

