Underworld by Meg Cabot


Underworld by Meg Cabot

Published May 8th 2012 by Point

Add to Goodreads

Source: Publisher

Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back.

Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera isn’t dead.

Not this time.

But she is being held against her will in the dim, twilit world between heaven and hell, where the spirits of the deceased wait before embarking upon their final journey.

Her captor, John Hayden, claims it’s for her own safety. Because not all the departed are dear. Some are so unhappy with where they ended up after leaving the Underworld, they’ve come back as Furies, intent on vengeance…on the one who sent them there and on the one whom he loves.

But while Pierce might be safe from the Furies in the Underworld, far worse dangers could be lurking for her there…and they might have more to do with its ruler than with his enemies.

And unless Pierce is careful, this time there’ll be no escape.

My Review

“Cursed?” I offered, my voice croaky because of my unshed tears.
“It isn’t cursed.” John said deliberately, rearranging the chain around my neck, “if you’re wearing it. It’s blessed.”

I honestly did not think that the second book would be as good as the first, but boy was I wrong. I had started reading it after work and ended up staying up until midnight so that I could finish it. I just could not put the book down!

I think this was due to the fact that Pearce and John are just coming into their relationship and things are still very new and exciting to both of them.  Pearce was great in this second installment and I really got to like her. She became a stronger person and was not whiny like in the first book. I just need to take a moment to swoon about John Hayden! He is described as not too good looking, but bad boy enough to make any girl swoon. Who wouldn’t fall head over heels for the lord of the underworld? You can’t get any more bad boy than that!

I also enjoyed the introduction of the many characters in the underworld. Henry would have to be my favorite because even though he had lived for decades, he still is as sweet and innocent as a little boy!

The ending was fantastic and I can’t wait for the next book! I can’t imagine how things are going to play out and am dying to know!!!

One comment

Talk to me!

