Black Dawn by Rachel Caine & Giveaway Winner Announced!


Black Dawn by Rachel Caine

Published May 1st 2012 by NAL

Add it to Goodreads

Source: Purchased

The hotly-anticipated twelfth instalment in the Morganville Vampires series

In Last Breath, the rain brought a new and dire threat to Morganville and its vampires… their ancient enemies, the draug. Now, the vampires are fighting a losing war, and it will fall to the residents of the Glass House: Michael, Eve, Shane and Claire, to take the fight to an enemy who threatens to destroy the town, forever.

Lovers of Morganville, rejoice: Black Dawn takes the intrigue, romance and nail-biting suspense of the series to its highest level yet!

My Review

“There were things out there in the world, things that vampires feared, and now those things were here. She was only seconds out of a very light, fitful sleep, but she knew that the nightmares had followed her effortlessly right into the real world. The draug. They weren’t vampires; they were something else, something that moved through water, formed out of it, dragged vampires down to a slow and awful death.”

I cannot stress to all of you how much I love The Morganville Vampire series!!! When I am reading them, I feel like my body has entered Morganville itself and I am a part of the action right along with all my friends, Michael, Shane, Claire and Eve.

“As I leafed through the book in front of me and watched the dust swirl in the air, I wondered if maybe there was some evil dormant virus in the pages that would infect me, like the mummy dust that used to kill archaeologists. Death by research. That was not a glorious end.”

This book was no exception. The draug have arrived in Morganville and they need to find a way to destroy them. Michael and Eve are having issues over his being able to control his vampire tendencies when he is with her. Claire and Shane cannot seem to have a spare moment to themselves and Shane loses himself for awhile and Claire is not sure if he can jump back from it. Myrnan is as crazy as ever and Amelie is trying hard to control herself after her body was taken over by the draug. It seems that no one is safe and Morganville will never be the same!

“Her phone rang again. “What?” she snapped as she answered it.
Myrnin, of course. “Are you on your way?”
“No!”
“Claire, there are things to do.”
“Here, too,” she said. “And I’m staying here, believe me.”
Myrnin was silent for a beat, and then he said, “Bob would be very disappointed in you.”
“Bob the spider?”
“He looks at you like a mother, you know. I’m surprised at your lack of work ethic. Think of the example you set for—”
She hung up on him and turned the phone on vibrate and relaxed in Shane’s arms.”

So much happens in this book and it is full of action, romance, and surprises around every corner! This book is purely about death and survival in Morganville. This might be the biggest fight that the vampires have ever had to give.

I can’t wait for the next book to come out!!! I wish that I had it right now!! *pouts*

Giveaway Winner

Congratulations to the winner of the e copy of Devotion by Kristie Cook.

Makayla

Your book should arrive shortly!

Talk to me!

