The Dark Divine Series by Bree Despain


I have had these books on my TBR shelf for quite a while now. I really could not wait to start them, but, with having so many review books lately, I had no choice but to skip over them. I finally decided that I could not wait any longer AND decided that I would review all three together. So here you go, my take on The Dark Divine Series.

The Dark Divine

Published December 22nd 2009 by EgmontUSA

Add it to Goodreads

From the very beginning, this series gripped me. Grace has a run in with this strange guy in art class. It takes her a few minutes to realize that it is Daniel. The very same Daniel that disappeared without a trace a few years ago. The same Daniel that was her brother, Jude’s, best friend and the very same Daniel that she has loved ever since she could remember. He looks very different, but she can tell it is him and now he is back and she wants answers to why he left in the first place.

“You hated me that much?’

“No.” I grabbed a branch and pulled myself up, my back still to him. “I missed you that much.”

I really enjoyed the flashbacks that gave the reader a glimpse of what Grace, Jude and Daniel were like as kids. It showed us just how tight their friendship was and how broken they had all become after one fateful night.

There was a great mix of characters. Jude was struggling with his own internal war within himself. April was the ditzy BFF that gave the main character of Grace a run for her money. Grace was strong-willed and willing to upset her entire family to stand by the one person that she loved the most. And Daniel, oh Daniel… At first, I pictured him as such an arse. He was arrogant and I kept wondering why he was pushing Grace away and then had a pull to her at the same time? By the end of the book though, I was ready to add Daniel Kalbi to my book boyfriend list.

The book ends with a bang and if you are going to read it, be sure to have the next one ready!

“You really are one of a kind. I mean, it’s not every day my girlfriend offers to kill me.”

*May contain spoilers if you have not read the first book!

The Lost Saint

Published December 22nd 2009 by EgmontUSA

Add it to Goodreads

This book starts off shortly after the other one ended. Grace’s world has literally fallen apart and she is trying so hard to just do the right thing. It is very hard with the wolf in her head and it is a constant struggle daily.

Daniel is trying very hard to teach Grace how to keep her wolf at bay. He is also trying to get her to come into her super powers with daily training sessions. Daniel is also trying to come to grips with being normal again. As you can probably guess, this leads to some sticky situations.

“Stop moving around.’
“Your opponent” –Daniel panted–“isn’t going to stand still and just let you hit him.” He held his boxing mitts out in front of him, welcoming a new attack.
“He would if he knew what was good for him.”

With the disappearance of Jude, the whole family has put everything to the side and taken up the task of finding him. Grace feels mostly at fault and she is extra careless with herself and willing to put her own life on the line. This brings the incoming of another new character to the book:

Talbot! Now, I can say that Tal is really swoony with his farm guy facade and his flannel shirts, but, I never really got to trust him throughout the whole book. He just seemed a little “too eager” to help Gracie. This puts a little bit of a love triangle twist into it.

My favorite would have to be April! She is snarky, funny and just too damn boisterous! She makes the perfect BFF for any character and I happen to think that she was written wonderfully!

“Okay, don’t get mad.” She pulled out my stake — or at least something that looked like my stake,only the hilt of it was now covered in bright blue crystals and diamond-like gems.

“You Bedazzled my stake?”
“Um … Surprise,” April said, “Just because you’re hunting nasty stuff doesn’t mean you can’t do it in style.”

Another cliffhanger ending and I am so glad that I had the next book to dive right into!

“Are you serious?” She asked. “Are you telling me you’ve got superpowers? ‘Cause that’d be pretty much be made of awesome.” She grinned at me and shook in her excited, trembly way.
“Um. Yeah. Kind of. I mean, I’m just learning how to use them, and they’re kind of fickle–but they came in handy tonight, didn’t they?”
“Heck, yeah, they did!” April squealed. “Did you see the look on that guy’s face when he hit the ground? Seriously, that was the coolest thing ever. He was all like, ‘come here defenseless little girl,’ and you were like,’BAM! Take that suck-face! I’ve got superpowers!”

*May contain spoilers if you have not read the first and second book!

The Savage Grace

Published March 13th 2012 by EgmontUSA

Add to Goodreads

So, here we are and we thought that Grace’s world could not get any worse, but now it has. Grace has fallen into a deep depression due to Daniel becoming the wolf. Her mother is distant and in the hospital with literally a mental break down. Her brother cannot be trusted and has to be locked up in a cage for everyone’s benefit.

Talbot is still around and in come a few more characters. The lost boys! I really got a kick out of Zach and Brent. Their age really showed in their bantering back and forth. I was not so sure of Slade, but by the end of the book, I had grown to love him too! April really surprised me and proved that she was not as ditzy as one would believe.

“I guess its time you officially met the lost boys,” I said to Daniel.
“Lost boys? You mean like that old Kiefer Sutherland movie?
“What? No, I mean like Peter Pan and the lost boys.”
“Is she calling us fairies?” Asked Slade.
“No,” Brent said. “She means the lost boys that never wanted to grow up, and got into mischief with Peter Pan.”
“Still sounds like fairies to me.” Slade crossed his tattooed arms in front of his chest.
“Still sounds like that Kiefer Sutherland movie to me.” Daniel smirked.
“We were in the play together, like, seven years ago. You were mad because my mom made you wear tights, but you wanted to be a pirate.”
Daniel held his hand up. “Partial amnesia here, remember? I must have blocked out any and all recollections associations with said tights.”
Brent, Zach, and Ryan laughed. Slade almost cracked a smile.

This book has given us the biggest battle so far. And let me tell you, this one is not to be missed! We learn a lot about Daniel and his family background. Also, Grace finally comes into her powers and learns how to use them for the greater good!

The ending is very sad and I was in shock for a good hour after finishing. If you are a sap like me, you will be crying also! There are many threads that get wrapped up, but, there is still an opening for another book. Ms. Despain has not ruled it out, but has not made a commitment for a fourth either. I can honestly say that I would love to read more about these characters and sit wondering why it took me so long to read them in the first place!

“There are times I have doubted. Times I have lost my way- without my anchor I would probably be lost still.”

6 comments

  1. […] The Dark Divine Series by Bree Despain (nightlyreading.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:EmailPrintFacebookTwitterDiggLinkedInRedditStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Tags: Allison's Book Bag, Bree Despain, Dark Divine, Dark Divine Trilogy, Fallen Saint, religious fantasy, reviews of books for young people, Savage Grace […]

    Like

  2. […] The Dark Divine Series by Bree Despain (nightlyreading.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:EmailPrintFacebookTwitterDiggLinkedInRedditStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Tags: Allison's Book Bag, Bree Despain, Dark Divine, Dark Divine Trilogy, Fallen Saint, religious fantasy, reviews of books for young people, Savage Grace […]

    Like

  3. […] The Dark Divine Series by Bree Despain (nightlyreading.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:EmailPrintFacebookTwitterDiggLinkedInRedditStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Tags: Allison's Book Bag, Bree Despain, Dark Divine, Dark Divine Trilogy, Fallen Saint, religious fantasy, reviews of books for young people, Savage Grace […]

    Like

  4. […] The Dark Divine Series by Bree Despain (nightlyreading.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:EmailPrintFacebookTwitterDiggLinkedInRedditStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Tags: Allison's Book Bag, book trailer, Bree Despain, Dark Divine, Dark Divine Trilogy, Fallen Saint, religious fantasy, reviews of books for young people, sample chapter, Savage Grace, soundtrack list […]

    Like

Talk to me!

