The Program by Suzanne Young Review


the programPublished April 30, 2013 by Simon Pulse

In Sloane’s world, true feelings are forbidden, teen suicide is an epidemic, and the only solution is The Program.

Sloane knows better than to cry in front of anyone. With suicide now an international epidemic, one outburst could land her in The Program, the only proven course of treatment. Sloane’s parents have already lost one child; Sloane knows they’ll do anything to keep her alive. She also knows that everyone who’s been through The Program returns as a blank slate. Because their depression is gone—but so are their memories.

Under constant surveillance at home and at school, Sloane puts on a brave face and keeps her feelings buried as deep as she can. The only person Sloane can be herself with is James. He’s promised to keep them both safe and out of treatment, and Sloane knows their love is strong enough to withstand anything. But despite the promises they made to each other, it’s getting harder to hide the truth. They are both growing weaker. Depression is setting in. And The Program is coming for them.

My Thoughts:

sobbing photo: sobbing anigif_zpsfb78231d.gif

This was the saddest book that I had read in a long time! Don’t get me wrong, I loved it!!! This was exactly what a great book is supposed to do for you. It leaves you with a ton of jumbled up emotions; I felt like my heart was breaking, I fell in love, I was confused and I laughed! This book definitely makes one of my top favorites this year so far!!!

Okay, so here’s the story…..

Sloane, James and Miller live in a time when suicide had effected so many of the young people. The government believed that suicide was an infection and it could be contagious. So, they created “The Program”.

The Program basically was set up where everyone would keep watch and if anyone noticed any changes in one of the town’s young people, they would call the “handler’s” and that person would be taken to the one of the rehab centers to start their working towards getting better. Also, they make each student fill out an assessment at school with crazy questions like:

Have you felt lonely or overwhelmed recently?

Has anyone close to you committed suicide?

Sloane, James and Miller think they have the system all figured out. They try to stay off the radar and keep all attention off of them. The problems start when Miller’s girlfriend, Lacey gets released from rehab and she doesn’t remember him at all. They know her memory has been erased, but they wonder what else had happened to her. What they don’t know is that they have no idea of what it is really like on the inside of a rehab center. But, some of them will soon find out.

I cannot even express the feelings that I had while reading this book!

must read photo: Read Must Collage ReadMustCollage.png

 

Sloane and James are a couple and their story is fascinating yet a very sad one. They share a tragedy that really, no one should ever have to witness. I think that is what holds them together so closely. I do believe that they adore each other and there were times that they gave me a chuckle, especially when Sloane was reminiscing! They also ripped my heart out. I found myself literally sobbing at some points!!

Suzanne Young, I bow to you for creating a superb storyline and characters that are real and very likeable! Although, I still am not sure about this Michael person??? I find it amazing and I really can’t put my finger on it, but, some authors have the ability to literally pull us in with their characters and make us feel like we are a part of their story and we feel the pain and anguish right along with them. This was one of those times and I THANK YOU!!!

Highly recommended Read! Now, the long wait for the next book:(

5

Heather

 

2 comments

Talk to me!

