Spellbound Review by Rachel Hawkins


Spellbound by Rachel Hawkins11454587

Source: Paperback from Hyperion Book Group

Published: March 13, 2012

Hailed as “impossible to put down,” the Hex Hall series has both critics and teens cheering. With a winning combination of romance, action, magic and humor, this third volume will leave readers enchanted.

Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident.

Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late?

My Thoughts:

It had been a really long time since I had read Demonglass! I had come across this book on Goodreads and realized that somewhere along the line, I had forgotten about this series. I knew that I had loved it, so, I contacted Hyperion to see if they possibly had any review copies lying around and I got lucky:) *Thanks Hyperion/Disney Book Group*

 

I buzzed right through and although I thought that I would have a hard time remembering the last book, as I was reading, it all came back to me.

As the book starts out, Sophie is hurtling through space after the fire at Thorne Abbey and Cal telling her to go to the Brannicks. He said that they would be able to help her find her mother. When Sophie finally does find Mom, she is in for another shocker which I am not going to reveal to any of you that have not read the book! But, I can tell you that it’s pretty big!!! The whole group ends up back together and they have the fight of their lives to bring back Hex Hall to its original state and over throw a few people while they are at it!

The love triangle continues between Sophie, Cal and Archer. I seriously cannot tell you which I like better for Sophie. One minute I think Archer and then Cal does something so sweet! Sophie goes through a period of confusion herself in this book.

The ending brings sadness and happiness at the same time! I hate to tell ya folks but we lose a precious member of the clan:( I won’t tell you who, but, it made me very sad!!! Other than that, the end was tied up nicely! I can’t wait to start the next spin-off series, School Spirits. I have the first book ready to go, I think?

Anyway, I LOVED this series and anyone who loves a strong, spunky heroine and a few gorgeous guys for a love triangle, a vampire BFF and a few witches spells, will love it too! I highly suggest you check it out!!!!

5H. Lee1

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. I loved this book but the ending really annoyed me!
    I’ve been looking through your blog and love your reviews, would you mind having a look at mine? I have a review of this book too.

    Like

Talk to me!

