Review: Glow by: Amy Kathleen Ryan


Goodreads description:

What if you were bound for a new world, about to pledge your life to someone you'd been promised to since birth, and one unexpected violent attack made survival—not love—the issue?

Out in the murky nebula lurks an unseen enemy: the New Horizon. On its way to populate a distant planet in the wake of Earth's collapse, the ship's crew has been unable to conceive a generation to continue its mission. They need young girls desperately, or their zealous leader's efforts will fail. Onboard their sister ship, the Empyrean, the unsuspecting families don't know an attack is being mounted that could claim the most important among them...

Fifteen-year-old Waverly is part of the first generation to be successfully conceived in deep space; she was born on the Empyrean, and the large farming vessel is all she knows. Her concerns are those of any teenager—until Kieran Alden proposes to her. The handsome captain-to-be has everything Waverly could ever want in a husband, and with the pressure to start having children, everyone is sure he's the best choice. Except for Waverly, who wants more from life than marriage—and is secretly intrigued by the shy, darkly brilliant Seth.

But when the Empyrean faces sudden attack by their assumed allies, they quickly find out that the enemies aren't all from the outside.

 
Find it on Goodreads. Buy it on Amazon.
 
Review:
 
This book starts out sweet and we really fall in love with the characters immediately. And then they're separated. Lovely, right? And after that, well, you'll have to read it to find out (I really would love to add in spoilers with a warning, but I know how it feels to have no will power, so.. we shant). I will say that the characters show their true colors and you may or *may not* feel the same about those characters in the end.
 
It was a quick read that really had me begging for the end result until I could no longer take it and read the last page.
 
I didn't expect what I got, and that excited me, for reals.
 
The characters, like I said before, change a lot. Some grow, some morally shrink. And again, that excited me for reals.
 
If you'd have asked me at the start how I wanted it to end, I would have given the obvious answer: happily and just like nothing ever happened. But by the end, Ms. Ryan had me wanting blood. She reminded me that nothing is ever as it were and you can't change time and experiences change you and blah, blah, blah... she reminded me that violence is sometimes the answer. But again, it will change you. Nothing comes without a price, ay?
 
This might sound confusing... but this book was like a little blob. But once you opened the book, the blob became like this maze and all those choices you'd have made were the wrong ones, so you'd never have gotten out.
 
 
All in all, this book was thrilling and I would be an idiot to not pick up book two, Spark. This author is one I'll be following, and I really hope she can manage to top all dat awesomeness. Every aspect and detail (characters, setting, etc.) was constantly being brought to a new light.
 
I would rate this book, these pages of awesomeness, a 4.5/5 stars. It rocked my boat. And I want to just talk about all these feelings. *end of my almost-rant*
 
 
Big thanks to ARCycling for my ARC of this (Omg, the person that sent it through this program has slipped my mind! But I love them bunches, whoever they are.) 
 
 
4 
 
 
 
 
 
I post every Tuesday and Thursday, few exceptions. This Thursday, I'll be posting my review of "If I Die" by: Rachel Vincent. This coming Tuesday will have my review of "The Madness Underneath" by: Maureen Johnson.
 
Other reviews you can look forward to from me in the near future:
 
The Collector (Dante Walker, #1)
 
The Elite (The Selection, #2)
 
 
If you guys want a review of a specific book, you can comment the title and author, email me personally at psreads @ hushmail . com (REMOVE SPACES), or email Heather* and I at: nightlyreading @ yahoo .com (REMOVE SPACES). *I don't remember what Heather's personal email is, or I'd list it here, too(if you want her to review that title, just email both of us asking for her email and she'll see it). Please note that I will do my best to fulfill all requests for books I'm even remotely interested in, but I can't promise anything. :)
P.S.2

2 comments

Talk to me!

