Posted in 2013, June

Reviews: How My Summer Went Up In Flames & Hemlock


Okay everyone, I apologize for not posting on Wednesday but, I have a very good excuse. I was bitten by my neighbor’s dog on Tuesday night. *not joking* I had to run off to see my doc on Wednesday, get my tetanus and my round of antibiotics. It still hurts, not as much as it did when it happened though:) So, enough of that….on with the good stuff…… Since I didn’t post on Wednesday, I have 2 reviews for you today:) ENJOY!!!

How My Summer Went Up In Flames

how my summer went up in flamesby Jennifer Salvato Doktorski

Published May 7, 2013 by Simon Pulse

Source: Via Netgalley with permission from publisher

First she lost her heart. Then she lost her mind. And now she’s on a road trip to win back her ex. This debut novel’s packed with drama and romance!

Rosie’s always been impulsive. She didn’t intend to set her cheating ex-boyfriend’s car on fire. And she never thought her attempts to make amends could be considered stalking. So when she’s served with a temporary restraining order on the first day of summer vacation, she’s heartbroken—and furious.

To put distance between Rosie and her ex, Rosie’s parents send her on a cross-country road trip with responsible, reliable neighbor Matty and his two friends. Forget freedom of the road, Rosie wants to hitchhike home and win back her ex. But her determination starts to dwindle with each passing mile. Because Rosie’s spark of anger? It may have just ignited a romance with someone new…

My Thoughts

I must start off by saying that I am a sucker for any road trip book! I personally enjoy road trips myself and to read about one! Ugh, it is just pure awesomeness!!! This book did not disappoint!

“You flambe one car and now you think every song with fire is about you,” Logan says. “Get over yourself, Catalano.”

Let’s talk storyline….

The storyline is kind of humorous! Rosie and her boyfriend break up. She begins literally stalking him! Calling him and driving past his house. She never intended to start his car on fire. She just wanted to burn a pile of stuff in his driveway. This brings on a restraining order, that she doesn’t acknowledge anyway! She still calls him and texts him. Her parent’s think it would be a great idea for her to get out of dodge, so they send her on a trip with her neighbor. Rose does not want to go, but is forced to go.

Now, on to characters……

Rose is funny and snarky! She is also a little tiny bit of a doofus. just sayin… She is one of those types of people who do things without thinking of consequences. You know, ask questions later. Which leads to some trouble on her end. She learns a lot about herself on this trip and it actually turned out that it shows her what may really be important in life.

Matty, oh sweet Matty! Matty is Rose’s neighbor. He is in love with Rose. I am sure we have all seen one of these on TV. You know, the nerdy next door neighbor that you don’t really like in that way, but they would do anything for you so you take advantage. They are too nice and you don’t really want to hurt their feelings but, there would be no way that you would ever date them!

steve erkel photo: steve erkel steveErkel.jpg

Logan is sweet but tough. He doesn’t take any crap from Rose and in the end, it works! He really does get through to her!

The ending…..

The book wraps up nicely. I kind of wished that I could read a little more but, all the loose ends were tied up.

Conclusion….

I am giving this book our 4 star rating. I really enjoyed reading it! I would suggest this book as a beach or pool side read! It is a great book for the summer full of road tripping, love, friendship and a little mischief!

4

Hemlock

by Kathleen Peacockhemlock

Published May 8, 2012 by Katherine Tegan Books

Source: ARC copy from Publisher

Fans of Maggie Stiefvater and the hit television show True Blood will flock to this first book in the supernatural mystery series set in a town where werewolves live in plain sight.

Mackenzie Dobson’s life has been turned upside down since she vowed to hunt her best friend Amy’s killer: a white werewolf. Lupine syndrome—also known as the werewolf virus—is on the rise across the country, and bloodlust is not easy to control. But it soon becomes clear that dangerous secrets are lurking in the shadows of Hemlock, Mac’s hometown—and she is thrown into a maelstrom of violence and betrayal that puts her in grave danger.

Kathleen Peacock’s thrilling debut novel provides readers with a mystery that Kimberly Derting, author of The Body Finder, calls “clever and frightening,” while Sophie Jordan, New York Times bestselling author ofFirelight, raves: “Forget every werewolf book you’ve ever read. This one breaks the mold.”

My Thoughts

I have had this ARC on my shelf for a year!!!! I know, I know…WTH??? Anyway, somehow it got lost among all the rest of my books and a few weeks ago, I decided to “purge” my shelves and I found it. The second book will be coming out in September and I will DEFINITELY be getting it!!!

This is not your typical werewolf story. As in, the world is aware of the werewolves. There was an outbreak in Lupine Syndrome and anyone that has acquired it is made to go to the camps set up by the government. They live out the rest of their lives there:(

The story starts when Mackenzie’s BFF, Amy is killed. Now, they believe that she was murdered by a wolf due to the wolf killings that had been happening in Hemlock recently. Amy was also found with a patch of white fur clutched in her hands. Ewww!

Now, Mackenzie is hell-bent on finding the murderer and so she starts investigating things for herself while Amy’s boyfriend, Jason joins up with the group that are like hunters for wolves. They come into towns and cities with a high wolf crime rate and hunt the wolves out and turn them over to the rehab camps. (not so nicely either, might I add!!)

Then there is Kyle, Mackenzie’s other friend. He has a secret of his own that he shares with Kenzie when he absolutely has to.

YES folks! There is a love triangle BUT, it was not an annoying one where the chick goes back and forth. She knew what she wanted from the get go and may have gotten a little tiny bit confused but basically stayed on track!

“He kissed me. And then he said it was a mistake.”
Serena wrapped an arm around my shoulders. “Normally, I’d quote that copy of He’s Just Not That Into You I picked up at a yard sale but-”

The book was fast paced and I thought that Ms. Peacock is a wonderful writer. The story kept me reading until the end when I HAD TO FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENED!!!! I honestly was kicking my self in the arse for not reading this book sooner!

Look for the next book in the series, Thornhill to be released on September 10, 2013!!!

5

H. Lee1

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

One thought on “Reviews: How My Summer Went Up In Flames & Hemlock

Talk to me!

