Review- The Elite by: Kiera Cass


The Elite (The Selection, #2)Purchase on Amazon. Find on Goodreads.

The hotly-anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestseller The Selection.Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.


_________________________________________
Review:

This is the sequel to one of my favorite books, The Selection, so it had a lot to live up to. There's always this huge fear of whether or not the sequel will be able to rise to the occasion; while I found The Elite enjoyable enough, it definitely didn't reach the high standards that The Selection had set.

While my feelings toward Maxon grew, I actually found myself liking Aspen and America less. I've read multiple reviews on this book and most said that they liked Aspen more after this book, but I really disliked the danger he put himself and America in. It felt selfish. And America, she was just really annoying. I honestly had myself doubting why I liked her so much in The Selection. She assumed way too much, and I couldn't connect with her on a personal level very much.

There were a few times when I was really excited to see what would happen next, but for the most part this book was.. blah. I just didn't feel much. There were a couple of really sad moments, but the majority of the book had me wanting to strangle America.

In the end America chooses who she wants to be with, but throughout the book she does a lot of damage. Damage that made me like her less. Damage that should have never been done and really made her look not-so-smart.

Maxon was really the life-saver in this book. He grows so much, and he really starts to come into his own. We were shown a new side of him, and I loved it just as much as the rest of him. We were also shown a new side of his father, who is a total jerk, and his mother, who I pity for having to live with such a jerk and not even know it.

In the end, this book was pretty disappointing --mostly because of America, and I look forward to book 3 now that she has chosen who she wants to be with.


3


P.S.2

One comment

Talk to me!

