Review: The Girl in the Wall by: Daphne Benedis-Grab


The Girl in the WallFind on Goodreads. Purchase on Amazon.
Ariel's birthday weekend looks to be the event of the season, with a private concert by rock star Hudson Winters on the grounds of her family's east coast estate, and all of Ariel's elite prep school friends in attendance. The only person who's dreading the party is Sera, Ariel's former best friend, whose father is forcing her to go. Sera has been the school pariah since she betrayed Ariel, and she now avoids Ariel and their former friends. Thrown together, Ariel and Sera can agree on one thing: this could be one very long night.

They have no idea just how right they are.

Only moments after the concert begins and the lights go down, thugs open fire on parents and schoolmates alike, in a plot against Ariel's father that quickly spins out of control. As the entire party is taken hostage, the girls are forced apart. Ariel escapes into the hidden tunnels in the family mansion, where she and Sera played as children. Only Sera, who forges an unlikely alliance with Hudson Winters, knows where her friend could be. As the industrial terrorist plot unravels and the death toll climbs, Ariel and Sera must recall the sisterhood that once sustained them as they try to save themselves and each other on the longest night of their lives.

__________________________________________
Review:
I'd like to thank Sarah @ The Book Life for sending me an ARC of this. :)

The book: woah. It was a fast-paced emotional rollercoaster that really kept me guessing.

The characters were seriously awesome. They were very well-written and I really connected with them all. The only negative thing I can say about the whole book is the insta-love, but when we only get to know these kids for one night.. insta-love is bound to happen, right? Right. Unless you don't want any romance. And I definitely wanted romance.

The characters were strong mentally, and I loved that and really wish books had more of that. There wasn't that one character I hated because they were all strong and caring. Like I said, awesome characters.

This book took us all through the house, and I never once got confused inside the walls. The author made it clear where you were and where you were going.

The pacing was great. There were multiple surprises, and you never knew what would happen next. A lot of books I read are written by an author afraid to kill off his/her characters, this author wasn't one of them. And once I was done crying, I totally loved her for it.

So, should you read this book? Absolutely. It's a pretty short book, but it was packed with turns and tear-at-your-heart moments. I had high expectations since it's been on my wishlist for a time, and I was not disappointed.

4.5


P.S.2


Talk to me!

