Posted in 2013, July

Dual Review: Wreckless by Bria Quinlan


00 Duel Voices

wrecklessPublished June 13th 2013 by RogueGiraffe Books

Source: Won in a giveaway hosted by Gwen Hayes

Wreckless… Where obsession and rebellion collide.

Bridget Larson’s never met a rule she didn’t like. Drawing inside the lines isn’t just a way of life – it’s the only way she can make it through the day. And through it all her BFF Leah has stood inside the lines with her through the unspeakable. Then Bridget catches her boyfriend with Leah–and the last thing on her mind is staying safe.

Salvation… A bad boy and his jacked up pickup.

Jake Moore was everything she needed and nothing he claimed to be. With one night of freedom and a spontaneously scribbled Rebellion List, Jake leads Bridget down every path she thought was forbidden… And into the one place she’d thought was lost to her forever.

H. Lee’s Thoughts

I loved this book and in my personal opinion, believe that anyone whom enjoys the contemporary/romance genre should read it!!!

The book itself was written beautifully and I really connected with the main character of Bridget Larson. Bridget is definitely a goody goody:) Everyone knows one…she is the girl that will “accidentally” let it spill to your parents that you weren’t really at your best friends house last night. OR, the girl that will remind you that underage drinking is against the law and should not be done. She has NEVER done a bad or immoral thing in her life. That is until she meets Jake Moore!

Jake, Jake, Jake…I was having wonderful Jake dreams for days after reading this one. Add another one to the book boyfriend list. He pushes Bridget out of her comfort zone and really, it was for the better. He is rugged and built, he can be mocking and frustrating , but sweet and sensitive all within an hour of knowing him.

Bridget is tired of being looked at as perfect. She never did anything crazy in high school and she is about to graduate without having any real memories of her high school experience. She pulls out a napkin and starts creating a list of things she wants to do all within this one night’s time. Some items on the list include skinny dipping (my favorite), stealing a street sign, going to a party and kissing a boy that is NOT her boyfriend. Sounds easy enough right? Jake Moore is willing to help a girl out which leads to some very funny scenarios!

I literally blew right through this book and could not put it down. I loved the beginning, I loved the middle and I loved the ending! I enjoyed all the extra characters and really liked the idea of a scavenger hunt of sorts. Also the fact that the two main characters had just met and one wasn’t just pining for the other one their whole life. It was like a breath of fresh air to the book world.

I highly recommend this book and would love for anyone whom reads it to come back here and let me know your thoughts! I hope you all enjoy it as much as I did:)

5.5H. Lee1P.S.’s Thoughts

Okay, I’m going to keep this pretty short so that I don’t sound as if I’m repeating Heather. 🙂

I really did like this one. It was beautifully written, the characters were really great and believable, and it was like a breath of fresh air because they had just met. Normally I don’t like background characters as much as I did here.

The pacing was great, but there really weren’t any surprises for me. I was thoroughly entertained, but it’s one of those books that you can put down at any moment. It’s one that you know you need to read in one sitting because if you put it down, you probably won’t pick it back up.

There was definitely some swooning here. However, it really wasn’t dominant for me, and I think that’s mostly because I like a book where the female flirts back (even minor).. it really just adds to any story, but I didn’t get that ’till way later in the story. And maybe *coughs* I like the main guy to have a little more edge.

Some of these dangerous and livin’ on the edge things they did I really didn’t find too dangerous.

This is a pretty good book. It really is. I know my review mostly focused on the negatives, but again, Heather covered all of the good stuff. 😉

Will I be reading anything else the author writes?
I’ll look for it, but if it doesn’t grab my attention, I won’t buy it just for the author. The author is great, but there was nothing in her writing that called to me, it was just basic beautiful writing.

image

image

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

Talk to me!

