Posted in 2013, August, Book Tours

Through My Eyes Book One: Jake Blog Tour by Olivia Carter w/Interview & giveaway!


jakePublished April 29, 2013 by Acacia Publishing

Source: Paperback from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Freshman year is about to begin and Molly Parker couldn’t be more unprepared. Still recuperating from her father’s recent split, Molly entertains a fragile relationship with her mother while simultaneously attempting to define herself. Molly has only her best friends, Rae and Margret, guy-crazy teenagers who mean well, and the “hard-boiled” restaurant owner Cindy to confide in until she “accidentally” meets Jake. But as far as strangers go, Jake and Molly are the strangest. Together they unearth one secret that will change their lives forever.

My Thoughts

From what I understand, Olivia Carter wrote this book while she was in high school. She is now a college student and I know that her writing will only keep getting better and better.

I really enjoyed the story line and the connection between Molly & Jake. In the beginning, they had some serious chemistry which continued when their “big secret” was revealed…just in a different way.

Molly and her mom had been having trouble making ends meet since her dad left. Their car breaks down in the middle of literally no where and the only thing around is a church. Molly runs into Jake when she is trying to ask to use the phone in the church office. She immediately becomes intrigued with him. She soon will find out why.

Molly was written wonderfully! She has some serious issues with her mother. As in, her mother is VERY judgmental and ALWAYS has an opinion about everything. I totally could understand why Molly has serious trouble confiding in her because it always leads to a lecture of some sort. Molly also has to deal with her father leaving and not really understanding the reason of why and why he never cam e back.

Jake was also a great character. He is sweet but also sassy at the same time. He figures out the big secret before Molly and he tries to help her deal with it the best he can.

I must add that there was one particular scene in which I was in tears, so make sure you have the tissues ready! Also, there is a lot of religion references in this book. I usually do not read much like this, but I found myself not really minding it. It definitely did not deter me from finishing.

I am looking forward to the next book in the series and can”t wait to follow the career of Ms. Carter:-)

wpid-41.png

OliviaCarterInterview

Who are your writing influences?

When I first started writing Jake I was reading Parrot in the Oven by Victor Martinez. He has a unique writing style that I emulated, one that goes into great detail when describing characters, making them the legs on which the story stands. I also picked up Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson: The Lightning Thief and found myself partial to his conversational narration style. However, I was also inspired as a child by Julie Andrews’ The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles. Her elaborate use of unique adverbs to build imaginary settings is something I find myself doing in Jake and most of my other plots.
How old were you when you wrote your first book?
Actually, I wrote my first book when I was about nine. It was a children’s story about a cow named Daisy. I originally told it to amuse my little brother one day in the car. However, Jake I wrote on the back of chemistry notes during the fall of my freshman year of high school.
Are your characters based on anyone that you know?
It is difficult to write total fiction, in all honesty. Most of my characters are loosely based off of friends and acquaintances. I find there are so many good characters already in this world, attempting to describe their personalities is just as fun as creating new ones.
How did you come up with the storyline?
Jake started out at as dramatized diary entries written in the third person. But as time went on, the story became more fiction than fact when I began to imagine those two sides every person has, emotional and logical, as being two separate people. The story of Jake and Molly eventually told itself as I started to grow up and realize that everyone has those two sides, and you cannot be one without the other.
What type of writing process do you use?
Honestly, I am a “get it all out on the page before I lose this thought” kind of writer. The story comes together in pieces, often out of order, usually just scenes that I imagined while brushing my teeth or something trivial like that. It’s after I have a dozen or so scenes that I read through them and try to find a common thread. Then it’s just about filling in the blanks, adding twist and running spell check.
Favorites Book?
I am an avid reader and I have read everything from Dr. Seuss to Thomas Moore. But when it all comes down to it, my favorite book is probably Shakespeare’s Hamlet. The infamous monologue is, I think, the most brilliant piece of literature ever written. I get lost in the imagery.
Favorite Author?
It is so difficult to pick a favorite author. Each one is a genius in his own right. However, before I could talk I was in love with Dr. Seuss. He writes the kinds of books that one loves as a child and truly appreciates each time he reads it as an adult. Each time I pick up Oh, the Places You Will Go I am always finding something new.
Favorite Color?
My favorite color is blue. Always has been, always will be. It’s such a calm color, and it is thought provoking. In fact, I owe my Caribbean blue wall paint for many of Molly’s brightest quotes. How does one concentrate in a room with white walls?
Favorite Ice Cream?
My family eats ice cream religiously, and I love it all! Still, nothing beats a big bowl of chocolate peanut butter ice cream with rainbow sprinkles. Hagen Daz of course!
 Favorite Animal?
My spoiled rotten kitty cat will probably kill me for this answer. Hands down, my favorite animal is the blue whale. They are just so massive, and yet so elegant. The mystery and timelessness of their existence intrigues me. Imagine being the biggest thing on planet earth!

Giveaway Time!!

Acacia publishing was gracious enough to give me an extra copy of the book for a giveaway!

US ONLY! Sorry to my international peeps:-(

The giveaway will end on August 31, 2013

Just fill out the rafflecopter form below, Good Luck!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

H. Lee1

*I must apologize!!! There was no This Week On NR or Book Haul due to MAJOR computer issues! Hopefully, now we can get back to our regularly scheduled program!

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

Talk to me!

