Review: A Matter of Fate by Heather Lyons


coverPublished August 30, 2012 by Cerulean Books

Source: E-Copy given from Inkslinger Publicity for this review.

Chloe Lilywhite struggles with all the normal problems of a typical seventeen-year-old high school student. Only, Chloe isn’t a normal teenage girl. She’s a Magical, part of a secret race of beings who influence the universe. More importantly, she’s a Creator, which means Fate mapped out her destiny long ago, from her college choice, to where she will live, to even her job. While her friends and relatives relish their future roles, Chloe resents the lack of say in her life, especially when she learns she’s to be guarded against a vengeful group of beings bent on wiping out her kind. Their number one target? Chloe, of course.

That’s nothing compared to the boy trouble she’s gotten herself into. Because a guy she’s literally dreamed of and loved her entire life, one she never knew truly existed, shows up in her math class, and with him comes a twin brother she finds herself inexplicably drawn to.

Chloe’s once unyielding path now has a lot more choices than she ever thought possible.

My Thoughts

I wasn’t sure if I would even enjoy this book when I read the synopsis, but I was pleasantly surprised, shocked, blown away, etc.

On the story line….

The story line of “magicals” was different and unique. Not to mention the different characters and all of their unique abilities. The jest of the story is that Chloe is a magical, a creator, which means all she has to do is think of something like an object and she can replicate what is in her thoughts. Her life kind of sucks since her parents are not really the loving type. They just want Chloe to “suck it up” and deal with it. She is set up for big things by being a creator and they want her to concentrate on that. So, basically what I am saying is that YES!!! I hated her parents!

The only time Chloe has ever been happy was when she was dreaming. There is a boy that she meets every night in her dreams. She loves him but she is not sure if he is real or not. They had basically grew up together since she has dreamt of him as far back as she could remember. But even he is gone now. About a year ago, the dreams stopped and she is not sure what that meant until the day he shows up at her school! And he has a twin!

The story line totally sucked me in. I had to keep reading and reading to see what was going to happen next!

On the characters…….

Okay, I can admit that there were times that I just wanted to smack Chloe upside the head while reading but for the most part, she was a great character. She was just a little confused and I am hoping that now that her confusion is straight, she will move on ahead.

I loved the love triangle that Ms. Lyons had created! Both boys were very droolworthy! I can’t even say that I loved one more than the other? Jonah or Kellan? Okay okay…I admit, I do love one more than the other and I hope pray that Chloe will see that he is awesome too!!! Hopefully by the end of the series!!!

The other character that I HAVE to mention is Cora, Chloe’s BFF/cousin. She was hilarious and literally had no filter what so ever! She actually had me in stitches several times. She was tough too! Especially on Chloe, she loves her but will tell her exactly what she thinks Chloe is doing wrong.

For example:

“He sighs. “If it’s any consolation, I’m not overly thrilled about being away from my wife for so long, either.”
“She a cougar?” Cora asks.
Karl stares at her, mouth open.
“I’m just saying,” she says defensively. “He looks like the sort to snag a cougar.”
She did not just say that. “Cora!”
“My wife is off limits to you.” He shakes a finger at her. And then, after a moment, “She’s not a cougar.”
Cora cackles brightly.”

Conclusion…..

The end of the book was wrapped up pretty well. The reader still may have some questions which I am sure can be answered in the following book. A Matter of Heart was released in June and I will be reading/reviewing it in September!!! I can’t wait to see where these characters go from here!!!

“Love isn’t always clean and pretty–sometimes it’s messy, cruel, and confusing. And sometimes, it doesn’t turn out the way you want it to. But then, the beauty of love is that it’s very strong, and when it’s real, it’s worth it.”

5.5

H. Lee1

Talk to me!

