Review: Dance For Me by Helena Newberry with Guest Post &Giveaway!


dance for mePublished June 25, 2013 by Foster & Black New Adult

Source: E-copy from author in exchange of an honest review

Natasha is one of the most promising ballet dancers at the prestigious Fenbrook Academy of Performing Arts and she’s just landed a life-changing audition. But no one knows the guilt she carries…or the damage it makes her inflict on herself when she’s alone.

Darrell is a multi-millionaire designer at 25. But past traumas have pushed him into isolation and the intense pressure of his work has brought him to the edge of burnout. Seeking inspiration, he sees Natasha dance and hires her as his muse.

As she dances for him, the two become entwined in a passionate but troubled relationship. He starts to see the pain inside her and helps her gradually lower her defenses…but Darrell has demons of his own. Can two broken people save each other? Or will the darkness they’re hiding consume them both?

My Thoughts

I have been reading a lot of NA titles lately. I love the romance factor and seeing how the characters finally end up together! The swoony guys do help a lot:)

This book did not disappoint on the swoon factor! The alternating POV’s were fantastic and I enjoy getting inside both the main characters heads!!!

Both of these characters are broken. They both lost their parents to tragic accidents. Natasha put all her energy into dance while Darrell put all of his energy into his work. Darrell was in need of a muse to help him with his current project and once he got Natasha in his sites, he needed her to help. At first Natasha thought he was some crazy psycho but as they get to know each other, they both let their guard down.

Of course, the book would be boring if they didn’t have their ups and downs but, in the end, their relationship was beautiful and they both learn to let go of their past.

The book was an easy, short read. I recommend it to any NA lover. This being the first book in The Fenbrook Acedemy Series, I really look forward to the next one, In Harmony!

wpid-41.pngGuest Post

What is this New Adult Thing, Anyway?

Is it a sub-genre of romance? Well, yes, in terms of how Amazon has categorized it (Romance -> New Adult and College), but they’re not trying to define it. So far, NA has been leaning heavily towards romance, but I think that’s purely because the first big books out of the gate have been romance. YA Urban Fantasy, YA Horror and YA Sci-Fi work just fine, so there’s no reason NA InsertGenreOfYourChoice wouldn’t work as well. So New Adult Romance is big, but I don’t think all New Adult has to be romance.

Incidentally, I’ve found I have to write it as New Adult romance, or throw a comma in there. If I say “I’m writing a new adult romance” it can sound like I’m writing a brand new Fifty Shades of Grey 😉

So if it isn’t romance, what is it? Is it characters with big problems? Certainly a lot of NA romance characters do have troubled pasts. But my theory is that that’s just a surface aspect of something underneath.

I think that YA is about becoming an adult.

I think that NA is “OK, I’m an adult: now what?”

Maybe you’ve been prepared for a certain adult life and it isn’t what you expected – instead of going to Harvard you find yourself raising a child. Maybe you get exactly the life you wanted, only to find it’s not what you need. You marry the guy of your dreams and move to a big house…and then realize you’re in love with someone else. Maybe you find yourself in a new city, with new friends and new possibilities and discover that you aren’t the person you thought you were. And you’re trying to manage all of this not at school, with parents you can talk to and close friends you can confide in and a safe home you can come back to at night no matter what, but on your own, in a new city and a new job, and however bad things get, you have to keep the rent paid. You have responsibilities. You turn around and, for the first time ever, Mom and Dad aren’t there.

That’s NA, to me. It’s about being Newly Adult, and figuring out what sort of adult you’re going to be and what sort of mark you want to leave on the world.

About the Author

I’m a New Adult Romance author who loves writing about what happens when love and dreams collide with the real world. I wrote my first novel, Dance for Me, in daily chunks in a very busy, very noisy coffee shop, which meant I had to order a black Americano every hour, on the hour, to keep my seat and wound up wired on caffeine most days. Unlike my characters, I can’t dance.

Social Media Links

Blog: http://helenanewbury.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HelenaAuthor

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HelenaNewburyAuthor

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/helenanewburyauthor

Google+: http://gplus.to/HelenaNewbury

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/helenanewbury/

Mailing list sign-up: http://eepurl.com/zmvuH

Giveaway

Ms. Newbury is giving away a $25 Amazon Gift Card. Fill out the Rafflecopter form below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

H. Lee1

6 comments

  1. I think New Adult is about when you are an adult and not sure what to do and they also have romance in them alot of the time.
    Thanks for the chance to win!

    Like

  2. I think new adult is that stage which comes after young adult when you’re still trying to figure things out. I’m 20 so I can easily relate to the characters in the books and it is my favorite genre 🙂
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

Talk to me!

