Posted in 2013, November

Galley Review: Wild Cards by Simone Elkelese


13065327Wild Cards by Simone Elkelese

Published on October 1, 2013 by Walker Books for Young Readers.

Source: Netgalley with permission from the publisher in exchange of an honest review.

After getting kicked out of boarding school, bad boy Derek Fitzpatrick has no choice but to live with his ditzy stepmother while his military dad is deployed. Things quickly go from bad to worse when he finds out she plans to move them back to her childhood home in Illinois. Derek’s counting the days before he can be on his own, and the last thing he needs is to get involved with someone else’s family drama.

Ashtyn Parker knows one thing for certain–people you care about leave without a backward glance. A football scholarship would finally give her the chance to leave. So she pours everything into winning a state championship, until her boyfriend and star quarterback betrays them all by joining their rival team. Ashtyn needs a new game plan, but it requires trusting Derek—someone she barely knows, someone born to break the rules. Is she willing to put her heart on the line to try and win it all?

My Thoughts

“Because I’m tryin’ to push you away when all I want to do is hold you. I know you say you don’t want a hero, but damn I’d like to be that guy who’ll save you from spiders and whatever and whoever else hurts you.”

I have been a huge fan of Simone’s work in the past. I fell in love with the Perfect Chemistry series and could not put down the Leaving Paradise series! The fact that this book was written by Ms. Elkelese, I was interested right away! I was so excited that she was coming out with a new YA for all of her fans to enjoy! BUT, I was kind of disappointed:-(

I enjoyed the storyline and thought that Derek was hot, hot, hot! *sizzling* I unfortunately did not connect with Ashtyn. I felt that she was awkward and sometimes, the way she acted, I could not understand how she could be the captain of the football team. She still seemed too girly and fragile to me.

Ms. Elkeles’s other books have intrigued me and there was always a piece of myself that connected with the story. I felt that this one fell flat and I could not become one with the book. The characters were all off doing their thing and I was an innocent bystander standing in the wings waiting to become involved.

The one part that actually did really pique my interest was Derek’s grandmother. Oh Lordy! That woman was hilarious! I sort of wish she was part of the whole book!

Don’t get me wrong, the story was okay and enough to keep me following along, but I just didn’t LOVE IT like I have loved others and I really expected to love it!

I hate that I feel this way when I have been so enamored by her books in the past. Maybe my tastes have changed? Who knows, but I did find some others that absolutely loved the book!

Dark Faerie Tales 4 Stars!

Good Choice Reading 4. 5 Stars!

Xpresso Reads 4 Stars!

I still am recommending that if you have enjoyed Simone’s books in the past, that you give this one a try. Maybe I am alone in my thinking?

3 stars

Netgalley november final (1)

h. Lee

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

One thought on “Galley Review: Wild Cards by Simone Elkelese

Talk to me!

