Posted in 2013

Review: Out Of Reach by Carrie Arcos


Image

Out Of Reach  

Carrie Arcos

Simon Pulse October 2012

256 Pages

goodreads2bdf5-am

 

Synopsis: 

How do you find someone who doesn’t want to be found? A girl searches for her missing addict brother while confronting her own secrets in this darkly lyrical novel, a National Book Award Finalist.

Rachel has always idolized her older brother Micah. He struggles with addiction, but she tells herself that he’s in control. And she almost believes it. Until the night that Micah doesn’t come home.

Rachel’s terrified—and she can’t help but feel responsible. She should have listened when Micah tried to confide in her. And she only feels more guilt when she receives an anonymous note telling her that Micah is nearby and in danger.

With nothing more to go on than hope and a slim lead, Rachel and Micah’s best friend, Tyler, begin the search. Along the way, Rachel will be forced to confront her own dark secrets, her growing attraction to Tyler…and the possibility that Micah may never come home.

My Thoughts:

If I had to choose my absolute favorite book of all time, it would be this one. Out of Reach was so perfect and amazing I couldn’t help but to just marvel in its amazing-ness after I read the last page. I can’t totally pinpoint  what about this book that made me love it. Maybe I love it so much because I can kind of relate to the situation that Rachel is going through. Maybe I love this book because of Micah, God I loved him. No, I didn’t love the Micah that came to be; I loved the Micah before. With every glimpse back I just loved him more and more. You could tell how much he loved his family and his life and it just broke my heart every time I learned more about the new Micah. Maybe its because I loved Rachel. I understood her so much and I understood everything she did and why, what it must have felt to go through the pain of watching the person you love spiral out of control. Maybe I loved this book because of Tyler, whether he went there to find Micah, or as a way to get closer to Rachel whatever the reason I knew that he loved Micah, and that he cared about him way more than he ever let on. Maybe I loved this book because of the writing style, even though it was simple, it was engaging and fast paced and made me want to read this book over and over again from start to finish. It made me want to go back and read every passage of the old Micah to commit him to my memory where he would always be the boy who had dreams of going to LA, and playing music for anyone who would listen. To remember the boy who defended his sister against the asshole who did her wrong, to remember the boy who carried his sister on his back for over a mile because she was hurt; even though he knew he wasn’t strong enough. Maybe I loved this book because to me the ending was perfect. Even though it wasn’t the ending I so hoped for, it was the ending that had to be. When you love someone who is an addict there is never a happy ending. Yes they may come home when they are ready and they might change, but the person you loved before will never come home, they’re gone. You have to spend time trying to fit this new person into your life, even though you know that they are the same; they really aren’t. I don’t know why I love this book, I just do. It is the most perfect and honest book that I have ever read in my life. While people always tend to look at addiction from the viewpoint of the addict, it was refreshing to look at from the perspective of people the addiction also affects, the family. My favorite quote in this was book was: ” You would have found a way. If you had the chance, you would have saved me” Rachel did have the chance and she did try to save him but she couldn’t; not yet but when he is ready he will find his way home. And that’s all we can hope for.

Image

 

Image

One thought on “Review: Out Of Reach by Carrie Arcos

Talk to me!

