Posted in 2013, December

Review: Wait for Me by Lissa Matthews


ImageWait for Me
Lissa Matthews
Lissa Matthews Books May 2013
Pages 44
goodreads   buy from amazon

WARNING: FOLLOWING REVIEW CONTAINS GRAPHIC LANGUAGE NOT SUITABLE FOR YOUNGSTERS

SUMMARY:

Melody Ashford has been in love with Vinny Banks since she was sixteen. He told her to wait, come back to him when she was legal. Two years later she crawled into his bed and never wanted to crawl out. They spent one blissful summer together before he left for boot camp and life in the military.

 He comes back to their little South Carolina town as often as he can, but then leaves again for parts unknown. The heartache, the pitiful looks, the sympathetic smiles Mel receives when Vinny departs takes its toll and she copes in the only ways she knows how: work, friends, and the casual companionship of guys she’s known all her life.

Vinny nor Melody knew what waiting would be like, especially when he reenlists for a second stint. If Vin were a better man, he’d set her free. But he’s not, and it would kill him to let go of the one thing more precious than life.

 Their love is volatile, and full of passion. No one has ever touched her, but Vinny’s never said the words, never asked the question that would ensure no one else ever does. He’s got secrets and missions he can’t share, and she’s got dreams of a life with him in her bed every night. Can they put both aside and simply love one another until the time is right, or is his request too little too late?

MY THOUGHTS

WOW!! Vin and Mel a couple that fights hard and loves harder! They only have eyes for each other and when they reunite time and time again, it is filled with passion and love.

“I love you. I don’t know what’s going to happen, how long I’ll be here this time, or how long I’ll be gone when I’m called in. I don’t know what I’ll do if I’m not doing this, if I’m not out fighting and trying to protect the only thing that matters in this world to me. I don’t know how to do much else. But, baby, I love you and we’ll work it out. Just give me a chance to work it out.”

Vin is your typical alpha male. A military man who has a rather questionable position in the military unbeknownst to Mel. He’s gone often, never knowing when he will return to see Mel. His dubious position in the military is exposed, will Mel accept him or reject him and break his heart forever? Vin is one sexy man and he knows exactly how to take care of Mel and she enjoys even second of their lusty encounters. Have a cold shower ready because Vin will drive you mad!!!

“Wait for me, Mel. No more other guys, no more being pissed at me, no more, please… You’re all I want. You’re all I need. Just… God, Mel. Give me… Fuck it. Just wait for me.”

Mel is a pistol, she has loved Vin since she can remember. Devoted and faithful, she diligently and hopefully waits for his sporadic returns. Under the impression his military position is something else, will she bail when she discovers otherwise? Will love conquer all? Mel is a vixen in her own right and enjoys Vin’s alpha male attention, willingly submitting to the endless pleasures he brings her, devouring and savoring  the moment they merge to become one.

“I want a life with you, Vin. That’s all I’ve ever wanted. How do I get that? How do I get you in my bed every night for the rest of my life? Tell me. Tell me what I have to do, where I have to go and I’ll do it. You’re in my blood and no one and nothing can ever take that away. I know it’s selfish of me to ask you to choose me. I know it’s selfish to want to take you away from the greater good. I won’t apologize for it though. I can’t. I’m greedy. I want you all to myself.”

This is one passion filled novella. This couple has endless chemistry, I am surprised the book didn’t self destruct with the heat from these two. Great love story with some steamy scenes. My only complaint  – it was too short!! I wanted MORE!! I hope Matthews revisits this couple and expands on their story, loads of potential to continue the saga of Vin and Mel.

“I miss you when you’re gone. I know you miss me, too. We’ve been doing this for long enough that I know deep down inside you belong to me and nothing will ever change that. But, I—”

Short but worth every page and of your attention, I guarantee you’ll want MORE as much as I did!

4 stars
Mal

Talk to me!

