Throwback Thursday: Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls


Throwback Thursday

Welcome to the first edition of TT!

The idea for this meme is to think back to memorable books from our childhood and to tell us why you loved them and you can even review them now.

If you would like to add your TT, please leave us a comment with your link and we will head on over to your blog and check it out!

Thanks to Kele for the meme suggestion!

H. Lee’s Throwback Thursday:

Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls238904

First Edition published in 1961 by Doubleday Books for Young Readers

249 Pages

Billy, Old Dan and Little Ann — a Boy and His Two Dogs…

A loving threesome, they ranged the dark hills and river bottoms of Cherokee country. Old Dan had the brawn, Little Ann had the brains — and Billy had the will to train them to be the finest hunting team in the valley. Glory and victory were coming to them, but sadness waited too. And close by was the strange and wonderful power that’s only found…

An exciting tale of love and adventure you’ll never forget.

My first brush with this book was in third grade. My third grade teacher, Ms. Maize, read it to the class. I fell in love with the storyline right from the get go! A boy that wanted a hunting dog! I could relate because I really loved animals and still do! 

I remember when the teacher got to the end and there was not a dry eye in the classroom, including hers! This was really my first dealing with death of any kind and I remember it being so very traumatic to me. I think that is why I fell in love with the story at that age. Due to the emotional attachment I had with the characters and the dogs. It made me feel things that I wasn’t privy to and it was exciting!

I have actually read this book many, many times over the years. I still love it just as much as I did back in third grade! I just get through it a lot quicker:) I now own my grandfather’s battered up old copy that I inherited when he passed away a year ago. We both shared a love of reading. Of course, he enjoyed a different kind of books than I, but we shared the same of love of a story about a boy and a couple of coon hounds!

What is your Throwback Thursday?

h. Lee

Talk to me!

