Giveaway: Roomies by Sara Zarr & Tara Altebrando


0d6e423ef0acf70e09b9141ae1752b2e

Published December 24, 2013  by Little Brown Books for Young Readers

goodreads

It’s time to meet your new roomie.

When East Coast native Elizabeth receives her freshman-year roommate assignment, she shoots off an e-mail to coordinate the basics: television, microwave, mini-fridge. That first note to San Franciscan Lauren sparks a series of e-mails that alters the landscape of each girl’s summer — and raises questions about how two girls who are so different will ever share a dorm room.

As the countdown to college begins, life at home becomes increasingly complex. With family relationships and childhood friendships strained by change, it suddenly seems that the only people Elizabeth and Lauren can rely on are the complicated new boys in their lives . . . and each other. Even though they’ve never met.

National Book Award finalist Sara Zarr and acclaimed author Tara Altebrando join forces for a novel about growing up, leaving home, and getting that one fateful e-mail that assigns your college roommate.

My Roomie Story

Okay, so I cannot believe that I am actually going to admit this but…….

When I was in high school. Me and my two sisters shared the second floor of our house. Our house was initially 2 separate apartments and we used it as one big house. The second floor was “girls only” and my poor brother had to share the same floor with my parents. (yuck!) Anyhoo! We had our floor basically set up like a small apartment but there was only 1 television! (I know, the horror!) The TV was in the living room so whomever got there first, would get their pick of a show.

The one day, I was watching TV, minding my own business when my sister (the middle child, need I say more?) came into the living room and just switched the channel on me! Needless to say, this turned into an all out war. Before I knew what was happening, we had each other by the hair and were rolling around on the floor like a couple of morons! I had my sister’s long hair literally wrapped around my wrists and she just had clutches of my hair in her fists. We started out on the couch and ended up balled up in the corner of the room. Tangled with arms & legs all over the damn place. Our younger sister was yelling for us to stop and when my Mom came upstairs, she was so speechless that she just started laughing! We must have looked like a bunch of idiots!

Every time I tell that story, it cracks me up! We were so mad at each other, but when Mom walked in…we literally both started laughing! The look on her face was priceless. She just could not believe that we were fighting over something so trivial.

It just goes to show, don’t mess with me and my TV!

cat fight photo: cat fight fightingcats.gif

 

Tour Dates

Sara & Tara are going on tour to promote Roomies. Maybe you can catch them in a town near you?

January 12, 2014 – New York, NY: McNally Jackson [venue link]

January 15, 2014 – Salt Lake City, UT: The King’s English [venue link]

January 16, 2014 – Provo, UT: Provo Library [venue link]

February 4, 2014 – San Francisco, CA: Books Inc, Opera Plaza [venue link]

February 5, 2015 – Petaluma, CA: Copperfield’s Books [venue link]

 

Giveaway

 

One of you will receive a copy of Roomies!

US Only!

To enter, please leave a comment with your Roomies story. It can be from summer camp, college or even boyfriend/girlfriend!

ALSO, please leave your email address so that I can contact you if you are the winner!

I will choose the winner on January 20th using Random.org.

Good Luck!!!

h. Lee

6 comments

  1. High school was a funny time. Emotions running high and the silliest things would set us off. I have an aunt who is close in age and we were in the kitchen peeling potatoes and helping get supper ready. I cannot even remember what set us off, but before I knew it we were screaming at each other and throwing food. After lobbing one particular vicious potato and staring into her face, my lip suddenly had and involuntary twitch that just would not stop. You know like those times when your eye will do that little itchy jump LOL Well one look at the twitching lip and we were in stitches. Thank you for sharing the fun story and making me smile.
    dz59001[at]gmail[dot]com

    Like

  2. It’s my first year of college, so I’m still making memories! Anyways, I remember one day my roommate and some of our friends decided to followed the source of this ice-cream truck music at night! It was like 9 pm or something. It was pretty spontaneous and hilarious. We gave up when we went a bit too far off campus. 😀

    You can tweet me @Bookbrews if I win!

    Like

  3. My first college roommate was this really sweet girl with sleep apnea and a need to leave the radio on a country station to go to bed every night. One weekend, I told her to help herself to my well-stashed treat cabinet while I was gone for the weekend. When I got back, she’d eaten every single one of my snacks. I suspect she must have passed them out to everyone on our floor. No one could have eaten that many snacks in one weekend!

    Like

  4. The only room mate I’ve ever had was my sister. We shared a room for 15 years! It had its pros and cons, but it kept us close 🙂 We’re only 3 years apart, so we could talk about a lot of things. Thanks for this!

    Like

Talk to me!

