Review: The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd


themadmansdaughterThe Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

Published on January 29, 2013 by Balzer & Bray

420 Pages

Source: Purchased

goodreads

2bdf5-amIn the darkest places, even love is deadly.

Sixteen-year-old Juliet Moreau has built a life for herself in London—working as a maid, attending church on Sundays, and trying not to think about the scandal that ruined her life. After all, no one ever proved the rumors about her father’s gruesome experiments. But when she learns he is alive and continuing his work on a remote tropical island, she is determined to find out if the accusations are true.

Accompanied by her father’s handsome young assistant, Montgomery, and an enigmatic castaway, Edward—both of whom she is deeply drawn to—Juliet travels to the island, only to discover the depths of her father’s madness: He has experimented on animals so that they resemble, speak, and behave as humans. And worse, one of the creatures has turned violent and is killing the island’s inhabitants. Torn between horror and scientific curiosity, Juliet knows she must end her father’s dangerous experiments and escape her jungle prison before it’s too late. Yet as the island falls into chaos, she discovers the extent of her father’s genius—and madness—in her own blood.

Inspired by H. G. Wells’s classic The Island of Dr. Moreau, The Madman’s Daughter is a dark and breathless Gothic thriller about the secrets we’ll do anything to know and the truths we’ll go to any lengths to protect.

My Thoughts

“Oh, and Juliet,” he said. I turned back. Half of his face was thrown in deep shadow, while the whites of his teeth gleamed in the distant lights from the salon. “I’ll be working in the laboratory late tonight. I’ve a good start on the new specimens. Don’t be alarmed if you’re awoken. The animals – they scream, you know. An unfortunate effect of vivisection. It keeps the whole household up.”

I cannot even express in words how much I was in awe of this book! I have never heard of the Island of Dr. Moreau but the blurb for TMD absolutely piqued my interest. I love me a gory story and this is exactly what I got! There was gore, love and loss. All elements of a fantastic read!

The Storyline

So Juliet is basically an orphan. Her father was a prominent member of the community and the best surgeon in the country until the “scandal” happened. He disappeared and Juliet thought he was dead. Her mother tried to keep them a float financially until her illness took her also. Juliet was left alone and had to fend for herself by taking a cleaning job at the university just to keep a small livable space for herself.

Juliet finds herself at a party one evening with a few local medical students. A dare turns out to be the start of her unraveling. From there, she is on a mission to find her father because now she has proof that he still may be alive. But what she finds is much worse than anything she had expected!

Juliet is one tough cookie

She recalls lying in bed at night and hearing the animal screams coming from the lab while her father worked on his experiments. That alone is enough to make me cringe. But, she keeps on going. She is determined to find out if her father is the madman everyone claims he is or the wonderful father that would hoist her in his lap and read to her. Everyone looks at her like she is so fragile but underneath her perfect exterior lies a lot of venom. She often wonders if she could have inherited her father’s madman gene?

I enjoyed her character. I thought she was tough and a written to be a really strong person. Sure, there are a few times that she cries her eyes out but, she was put through so much in her 16 years, that anyone would have had a breakdown at this point.

The Boys

Well, I honestly cannot decide which one I love more. They both have their flaws and I was with Edward right up until the end but then that kind of deflated:(

Edward is a rescue. He was found clinging to a buoy in the middle of the ocean. He feels an instant connection to Juliet and was trying to be really honest with her. I enjoyed their friendship and like I said, up until the end, he is the one that I would have chosen!

Now Montgomery is all kinds of hot! But, he had kept things hidden from Juliet. He was her mother’s maid’s son and so they literally grew up together. She recalls that he was always there for her and she feels an instant connection to him upon seeing him again.

I know where Juliet’s heart lies but honestly, I think she needs to ditch both guys and go off and find herself another. If that was me, I would have swum off the island just to get away or gone crazy!

The ending

The ending was heartbreaking for Juliet. I knew that there would have to be some kind of twist and right at the very end, the writer throws it at us…BAM! Knocked me for a loop because I never suspected it!

All in all this book was a fantastic read and it kept me on my toes. I literally read the whole thing in one day and would recommend it to anyone! If you are not a fan of a little gore or suspense, then it may not be for you.

I have an ARC of the sequel, Her Dark Curiosity, and I am ready to just jump in and devour it!! I am hoping that it will live up to this one!

“How did you survive?” I asked. My question caught him off guard, and his hand curled around the dice. He gave a cautious shrug. “The grace of God, I suppose.”

5-stars

h. Lee

 

2 comments

Talk to me!

