Posted in 2014, February

Alliance: The Paladin Prophecy by Mark Frost


Alliance (The Paladin Prophecy #2) by Mark Frost

Published January 7th, 2014 by Random House Books for Young Readers

329 pages

goodreads

amazon button

Synopsis:

Readers of I Am Number Four, The Maze Runner, and Legend will love this sophisticated adventure series by the co creator of the groundbreaking television show Twin Peaks, with its unique combination of mystery, heart-pounding action, and the supernatural.

After exposing the sinister underground society of students known as the Knights of Charlemagne, Will West stays at the Center over the summer to explore his newly developing physical and mental abilities. Meanwhile, his roommates investigate the Knights’ shadowy purpose and discover unsettling information about their own backgrounds. Will and his friends must quickly figure out what’s going on and separate friend from foe as they prepare for the coming fight.

My Thoughts:

If you have never read the first book in this series I would highly suggest reading it before you read this one. Some of the things that happened in the first book are important to know ( i.e. who the characters are, what has happened up to this point etc.).

I enjoyed the plot and loved getting to know more about Will and his friends (there is a list that Will wrote up about who has what type of powers which I found myself going back and forth) but I kind of got lost when Will and everyone were in the underground tunnels (I felt that it was a really long journey that some of the things that happened in there could have been resolved faster if Will had spoken up about what he was feeling ). I also thought that Ajay would have known that Cahokia was located in Illinois ( I even know this but then again I’m a history major) and was an ancient Native American City (Ajay is supposed to be super smart and have a photographic memory).

There was a lot of information that I felt was rushed and I still don’t get some of the connections that were established with the Knights and the things (monsters read the first book and you will understand). I also believe that Will needs to sort out his relationship status and who he likes more instead of just waiting around and leading both girls on (read this book and you will understand who I am talking about).  Anyhow, my favorite character in this book would have to be Nick because he was an extremely funny guy and I enjoyed reading his comments. Overall, compared to the first book in this series, this one wasn’t the greatest.

Tomorrow with Teaser Tuesday I will post a teaser from this book 🙂

2 stars

Lianne

Talk to me!

