ARC Reviews: Her Dark Curiosity & Uninvited!


16182304Her Dark Curiosity (The Madman’s Daughter 2) by Megan Shepherd

Published January 28, 2014 by Balzer & Bray

420 Pages

goodreads

To defeat the darkness, she must first embrace it.

Months have passed since Juliet Moreau returned to civilization after escaping her father’s island—and the secrets she left behind. Now, back in London once more, she is rebuilding the life she once knew and trying to forget Dr. Moreau’s horrific legacy—though someone, or something, hasn’t forgotten her.

As people close to Juliet fall victim one by one to a murderer who leaves a macabre calling card of three clawlike slashes, Juliet fears one of her father’s creations may have also escaped the island. She is determined to find the killer before Scotland Yard does, though it means awakening sides of herself she had thought long banished, and facing loves from her past she never expected to see again.

As Juliet strives to stop a killer while searching for a serum to cure her own worsening illness, she finds herself once more in the midst of a world of scandal and danger. Her heart torn in two, past bubbling to the surface, life threatened by an obsessive killer—Juliet will be lucky to escape alive.

With inspiration from Robert Louis Stevenson’s The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, this is a tantalizing mystery about the hidden natures of those we love and how far we’ll go to save them from themselves.

May have spoilers! I am just warning you!!

My Thoughts

I can honestly say that I loved this installment just as much as the last one! To read my review of TMD, go HERE!

While the first book in the series was inspired by The Island of Dr. Moreau, the second book was inspired by Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. CREEPY! I love the fact that this series takes after some old creepy movies. I really love the ick factor and I believe that is what propels me to keep reading.

The book starts off with Juliet back in London. She has been taken in by the very same doctor that had turned her father over to the authorities all those years ago but she doesn’t hold a grudge and is very thankful for his support now. She finds herself doing all kinds of out-of-character things to get money for trying to create a serum that will work on her illness. She gets sort of close and then the serum just sizzles.

The creepy part starts when people around her keep dying and they are all people who have wronged her in some way. Three slash marks to their bodies are all the paper states. Juliet gets curious enough to sneak into the morgue where the bodies are being held to investigate, she finds more than she wanted and now knows whom is responsible for the killings. She just doesn’t know if she should be horrified or elated?

I was so happy to see all the characters back together again in this installment. There are a few new characters added to the mix and they are just as quirky as the others. I am still head over heels for Edward! I do not know what it is about him? I have to believe it is that he doesn’t want to be this way but cannot fight it. He tries to be as honest as he can with Juliet and I can tell that at some points, she cracks and lets him under her skin. As for Montgomery, I do see his reasons for doing what he did but, I still think Juliet should make him suffer a while longer.

The ending of this book blew me away!!! I seriously cannot wait for the next one! Ugh! and we have to wait a whole year!!! If you loved the first book, then you will definitely love this one!!! Quick! Run and buy it!!!

5-stars

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan13645645

Published January 28, 2014 by HarperTeen

384 pages

goodreads

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

My Thoughts

This was my first time reading a book by Ms. Jordan. I think that after this one, I may need to check out what others she has out there:)

This book made me feel all the feels! I was sad, angry, intrigued, smiling, swooning, crying and wanting to just throw the book across the room! BUT, I loved it!

Davy gets called out of class one day and is told that she tested positive for the Homicidal tendency Syndrome (HTS) gene. She is horrified and thinks that maybe they could be wrong but the tests do not lie.

She gets ripped out of her school, her friends and boyfriend start treating her differently and ends up being locked in literally a cage in the basement of the public school with the other HTS positives. Her life could not get any worse, but yes, it definitely can and she finds that out the hard way.

Her parent’s are always arguing, her father stands up for Davy and insists that the test has to be wrong where her mother, just goes with the flow and thinks that Davy’s life is over and she should just make the best of it. I couldn’t stand her mother and kept thinking that she has to know something about the tests to just be so calm about her daughter being positive. Like she expected it and the fact that she just keeps telling Davy that this is for the best. UGH! She was so frustrating.

Now, onto the subject of Sean. He is definitely swoonworthy and once we find out his story, you feel all kinds of sad for him. I am glad that he had taken Davy under his wing because they both really could use a friend. Sean needs someone to remind him that he is not a nothing and that he is not what everyone thinks he is. And Davy needs someone to remind her that her life is not over.

From what I understand, this is a duology and I really cannot wait to get the second book! *grabby hands* I NEED IT NOW!

5-stars

h. Lee

Advertisements

Talk to me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s