Review: When the World Was Flat by Ingrid Jonach


15767908

When the World Was Flat (and we were in love)

Ingrid Jonach

Published September 3rd 2013

Strange Chemistry 

312 Pages

goodreadsamazon button

Synopsis: 

Looking back, I wonder if I had an inkling that my life was about to go from ordinary to extraordinary.

When sixteen-year-old Lillie Hart meets the gorgeous and mysterious Tom Windsor-Smith for the first time, it’s like fireworks — for her, anyway. Tom looks as if he would be more interested in watching paint dry; as if he is bored by her and by her small Nebraskan town in general.

But as Lillie begins to break down the walls of his seemingly impenetrable exterior, she starts to suspect that he holds the answers to her reoccurring nightmares and to the impossible memories which keep bubbling to the surface of her mind — memories of the two of them, together and in love.

When she at last learns the truth about their connection, Lillie discovers that Tom has been hiding an earth-shattering secret; a secret that is bigger — and much more terrifying and beautiful — than the both of them. She also discovers that once you finally understand that the world is round, there is no way to make it flat again.

An epic and deeply original sci-fi romance, taking inspiration from Albert Einstein’s theories and the world-bending wonder of true love itself.

My Thoughts:

I went into this book Skeptical, the plot sounded interesting but I had my doubts and they proved to be right. Before I started this book I thought I wouldn’t like it because it has a strong sci-fi premise to it which is something that either bores me to death, or something that I just can’t get into, I blame it on the fact that I’ve always hated science with a fiery passion! But with this book it bored me and I couldn’t get into it. The fact that I couldn’t get into was because it was the most confusing book I have ever read in my life. I found myself utterly confused many times while reading this book, and because it was so confusing it left me with no desire to even finish the book even though I had two, TWO chapters left.

I was so fed up and over with this book that I didn’t care how it ended, or even if the characters lived or not! One big major reason why I disliked this book was because I hated the main characters and the romance! I felt like Lillie and Tom were 2-dimensional characters, I felt like they needed more development, and the romance was instant and annoying. They went from completely hating, and ignoring each other to practically planning their wedding in only a couple of chapters, which was a turn off for me.

Lillie constantly acted like she was 6 instead of 16, and never really thought about anything before she did it and always undermined Tom when the poor boy was trying to help her; Tom was annoying I really disliked him.

Honestly the only person I liked was Sylvia, she felt real to me, she was honest and ambitious, and always called people out on their shit, especially Lillie! One thing that annoyed me a lot was the constant slut shaming; Jonach went a overboard on that. I’ve never read a book where I could honestly tell the author disliked one of their characters. Everytime Sylvia appeared in the book it was usually to have someone tell her how much of a slut she is, and when someone wasn’t bashing her, she was bashing herself. I hated it! Sylv is such a strong character and she definitely has the most personality out of every single character in this book, and all Jonach did was portray her a disgusting person who will have sex with anything that walks and it severely  pissed me off!

Even though I have given negative reasons to why I disliked this book it wasn’t all bad! The premise is sure to capture fans of science fiction, and the world building was quite interesting. And I’m absolutely positive that the romance aspect is sure to captivate many other people, just not me.

1 star

 

Sam

Talk to me!

