Book of the Month: The Taking by Kimberly Derting w/Interview!


ARC Read A-Long

For those of you that had missed the first post, we have decided to do a book of the month and have a reviewer ARC Read A-Long here on the blog. The followers have voted and the book they chose is The Taking by Kim Derting. We have started to read the book and we all have loved it so far:

H. Lee:

I started on this book and had a really hard time stopping at the end of chapter 6 for this first week. I love the storyline and of course, the characters. I cannot wait to see where this story goes and what Kyra’s dad has in store for all of us!!!

Mal:

I am curious to see what happens. Was Kyra abducted by aliens or???? I feel for her, all the changes she’s returned to. No memory of what happened yet… Tyler sure is a sweetheart. My curiosity is piqued. Looking forward to reading MORE. Really like BOTH characters Kyra and Tyler. Kinda difficult to put down. Oh yeah, the food (spaghetti and blood drawl incident has me wondering). So far I am really enjoying the book. I can’t imagine disappearing and reappearing 5 years later – missing everything in between (at the moment) scary and sad 😦

Sam:

I was hooked from the very first page! Derting has a writing style the completely entrances you. And in only a chapter, I already love Kyra and I absolutely love Tyler. I love them together it was instant chemistry since the moment they laid eyes on each other. I’m really enjoying the personality of Kyra’s father, and I’m excited to see what role he plays in this book!

the takingThe Taking by Kimberly Derting

To be published April 29, 2014 by HarperTeen

368 pages

goodreads

A flash of white light . . . and then . . . nothing.

When sixteen-year-old Kyra Agnew wakes up behind a Dumpster at the Gas ’n’ Sip, she has no memory of how she got there. With a terrible headache and a major case of déjà vu, she heads home only to discover that five years have passed . . . yet she hasn’t aged a day.

Everything else about Kyra’s old life is different. Her parents are divorced, her boyfriend, Austin, is in college and dating her best friend, and her dad has changed from an uptight neat-freak to a drunken conspiracy theorist who blames her five-year disappearance on little green men.

Confused and lost, Kyra isn’t sure how to move forward unless she uncovers the truth. With Austin gone, she turns to Tyler, Austin’s annoying kid brother, who is now seventeen and who she has a sudden undeniable attraction to. As Tyler and Kyra retrace her steps from the fateful night of her disappearance, they discover strange phenomena that no one can explain, and they begin to wonder if Kyra’s father is not as crazy as he seems. There are others like her who have been taken . . . and returned. Kyra races to find an explanation and reclaim the life she once had, but what if the life she wants back is not her own?

Author Interview

1. How was writing The Taking different than writing your other series? (The Pledge, The Body Finder)

Every series has been a different experience, mostly because the characters are so unique (and maybe somewhat real) to me. With THE TAKING, there were parts that hit closer to home because I had to dig deep to imagine what it would be like if one of my kids went missing, and then (miraculously) reappeared again. It also gave me the chance to indulge my love of alien conspiracy theories. I wouldn’t say I’m one of those people who believes in all the crazy theories, but I definitely love the idea that they could be real.

 2. Are your characters based off of anyone you know?

I kind of Frankenstein my characters together from the people around me, stealing personality traits or mannerisms or even just dialog from friends, relatives, even total strangers. You’d be surprised how much you can learn about people (and their personal lives) from eavesdropping in line at a Starbucks.

 3. Do you hold a huge “yay me” party on the release day of a book? How do you treat yourself for a job well done?

When THE BODY FINDER first came out, my husband took the day off work and we went to lunch before driving around to all our local bookstores so I could see it on the shelves for the first time. I think I screamed (out loud) when I saw it in person.

These days, a “yay me” consists of hanging out with my family, eating takeout and watching a movie snuggled up on the couch. That’s my true happy place!

 4. How do YOU write dialog? I have always been amazed how authors write such natural flowing dialog leaving the reader feeling as if they are eavesdropping!

Okay, first, a lot of eavesdropping (see answer #2). And second, I usually read the dialog out loud at least once to make sure it doesn’t sound too stilted (and yes, my kids can hear me sometimes and think I’m weird). Not only should it read like dialog, but it should also be unique to each character, so that if you don’t have the dialog tags attached (like, “so-and-so said”) you still can tell who’s talking.

 5. How do you deal with negative reviews?

Actually, it totally depends on the day. Mostly, I try not to read them, which is great advice for any writer, but unless you’re living under a rock, it’s almost impossible to follow. I don’t subscribe to Google Alerts (anymore), I don’t peruse Goodreads (anymore), and I (try to) avoid Amazon. Like I said, tough. Usually, I let them roll off my back, and sometimes they even make me laugh because you can tell when it’s just a reaction to something the reader didn’t like in the story and not really a slam on you as a writer. Occasionally, though, a review will require breaking out the Ben & Jerry’s.

 This or That?

Chocolate or Vanilla? Chocolate, always chocolate.

Hard Copy or E-Copy? Both.

Winter or Summer? Summer, summer, summer.

 Mountains or Tropical Island? Tropical island. In the summer. With the sun. And chocolate.

 Favorites?

 Book? TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD by Harper Lee

Author? Stephen King (all time master of horror)

Movie? The Last of the Mohicans

 Animal? Cat (I like the low maintenance factor)

 Holiday? I love Christmas morning.

About Kimberly Derting

Kimberly is the author of the BODY FINDER series (HarperCollins), THE PLEDGE trilogy kim(Simon & Schuster), and THE TAKING trilogy (coming April 29th from HarperTeen). She lives in the Pacific Northwest, the ideal place to write anything dark or creepy…a gloomy day can set the perfect mood. She lives with her husband and their three beautiful (and often mouthy) children who provide an endless source of inspiration.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2755160.Kimberly_Derting

Website: http://www.kimberlyderting.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/kimberlyderting

amazon button

Pre-order The Taking today!

A HUGE THANK YOU TO MS. DERTING FOR TAKING THE TIME TO ANSWER OUR QUESTIONS!

Every Wednesday in the month of March, we will be posting our updated reviews and something new from the book! Next week, a character interview with Kyra and Tyler!

AND, Look for a signed swag giveaway coming soon!!

See you next week!

Your NR Reviewers: H. Lee, Mal , Sam & Kele

Talk to me!

