Posted in 2014, March

Dual Review: Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott


00 Duel Voices16069167

Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott

Published February 25, 2014 by Scholastic Press

304 Pages

A modern day thrill ride, where a teen girl and her animal companion must participate in a breathtaking race to save her brother’s life—and her own.

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can’t determine what’s wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She’s lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she’s helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It’s an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother’s illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there’s no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can’t trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

Our Thoughts

“If your hearing this message, you are invited to be a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. All contenders must report within forty-eight hours to select their Pandora companions. If you do not appear within forty-eight hours, your invitation will be eliminated.”

“The Pandora Selection Process will take place at the Old Red Museum. The Pandora you choose is of the utmost importance, for it will be your only source of assistance throughtout the race.”

“The Brimstone Bleed will last three months and will take place across four eco-systems: desert, sea, mountains, jungle. The winning prize will be the Cure-a remedy for any illness, for any single person.”

“There can only be one champion.” 

H.Lee: This was my first time reading one of Ms. Scott’s books. (I know, I know, I haven’t read the Collector series, but I do have it on my kindle…does that count?) I was blown away by the storyline. What were your thoughts Sam?

 Sam: This was also my first time reading a book by Ms. Scott, but I know it won’t be the last! I was instantly pulled in, and I loved the concept of the story, it kept me on the edge of my seat!

 H. Lee: I think my favorite aspect of the book were the idea of pandoras. I am not even sure which one in the book was my favorite, they all seemed pretty unique and interesting in their own way. Did you have a favorite Sam?

 Sam: I definitely had a favorite! I’m a sucker for all types of birds, so I was instantly attracted to the eagle but Madox stole my heart and now I want to steal him! 

 H.Lee: Madox was adorable! I have heard many compare this book to The Hunger Games. I didn’t get that feeling? I mean it had certain qualities that may have been like THG but it definitely had different aspects to it and a totally different storyline. Have you heard this?

 Sam: I have heard that, but like you, I didn’t feel it either. After reading it, the only aspect of the book that reminded me of THG was the fact that the main characters are trying to save their siblings.

 H.Lee: Geesh, I hadn’t even thought of that aspect, so I guess but during F&F, every person was trying to save someone they loved. I think that made the book even more awesome because they were all competing to save a loved one. Who was your favorite character? Least favorite? My favorites were definitely the pandoras again, they just were so unique and seem to each have a personality that kind of matches their owners. I am still trying to figure out Guy and whether I fully trust him or not. I have a feeling the next book may give me more answers on him. I hope:)

 Sam: I loved Titus, He was too cute! Buy my absolute favorite was Tella! I loved her personality and I thought she was such a strong character as well. My least favorite is Guy. I don’t trust him, I’m worried he’s going to screw Tella over somewhere down the line. But even though I don’t trust I can’t help but like him a teeny tiny bit!

 H.Lee: So, overall, how many stars would you give this book? For me, it was definitely a 5! I loved it!!! Are we going to duel review for book 2 also?? 

Sam: Overall, this book is definitely a 5! I loved everything about and I want so much more! We should definitely do a duel review for the second book!!

H.Lee: Well, there you have it! Look for a dual review on book 2 sometime in the future!

*Thank you to Scholastic for the review copies of this book!

5-stars

   h. Lee&

Sam

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

One thought on “Dual Review: Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott

Talk to me!

