Posted in 2014, March

Review: Dearly, Beloved (Gone with the Respiration #2) by Lia Habel


Dearly, Beloved (Gone with the Respiration #2) by Lia Habel

Published September 3rd, 2013 by Del Rey

482 pages

goodreads

amazon button

Synopsis: Can the living coexist with the living dead?

That’s the question that has New Victorian society fiercely divided ever since the mysterious plague known as “The Laz” hit the city of New London and turned thousands into walking corpses. But while some of these zombies are mindless monsters, hungry for human flesh, others can still think, speak, reason, and control their ravenous new appetites.

Just ask Nora Dearly, the young lady of means who was nearly kidnapped by a band of sinister zombies but valiantly rescued by a dashing young man . . . of the dead variety.

Nora and her savior, the young zombie soldier Bram Griswold, fell hopelessly in love. But others feel only fear and loathing for the reanimated dead. Now, as tensions grow between pro- and anti-zombie factions, battle lines are being drawn in the streets. And though Bram is no longer in the New Victorian army, he and his ex-commando zombie comrades are determined to help keep the peace. That means taking a dangerous stand between The Changed, a radical group of sentient zombies fighting for survival, and The Murder, a masked squad of urban guerrillas hellbent on destroying the living dead. But zombies aren’t the only ones in danger: Their living allies are also in The Murder’s crosshairs, and for one vengeful zealot, Nora Dearly is the number one target.

My Thoughts:

I thought that overall it was an okay book. There were too many different points of views (Nora, Bram, Laura, Pamela, Michael) and subplots going on within this book (I felt that this book was a bit lacking – it still had an exciting plot to it but I felt that it was missing something). I thought that the length was a bit too long (I am not against long books but sometimes I think that they could be shorter and that some of the information wasn’t necessary). I also think that the plot wasn’t as interesting as the first book was and I was sometimes confused as to who was who (Read this book and you will understand). I really enjoyed the ending of this book though and thought it was awesome.

Would I recommend it?

Maybe. If you loved reading the first book in this series (Dearly, Departed) then I would say you might want to read this one. There were a few things that I learned about some of the characters backgrounds (Chase and Samedi) that I wouldn’t have known about if I had not read this book.

3 stars

Lianne

Talk to me!

