Posted in 2014, March

Book of the Month: The Taking by Kimberly Derting w/ Character Interview!


ARC Read A-Long

For those of you that had missed the first post, we have decided to do a book of the month and have a reviewer ARC Read A-Long here on the blog. The followers have voted and the book they chose is The Taking by Kim Derting. We have started to read the book and we all have loved it so far:

H. Lee:

WOW!! A lot has happened in the book this past week! We are really getting into the “guts”! I am still REALLY enjoying it and cannot wait to see what happens! I am also a tad (a smidge really) curious if there just may be a love triangle on the horizon???

Mal:

Gotta appreciate the build up of what’s to come. Full of suspense. Kyra still breaks my heart for all the changes she faces. Dentist. Phlebotomist. Hmmm. NSA. mysterious guy w light eyes. Bionic arm – softball pitch was lethal. Love the tension between Kyra and Tyler. NSA agent is spooky. Still can’t figure where this is gonna go…yet. Simon rescues Kyra from NSA capture. She confides her age and NSA guy to understanding Tyler. Simon is returned. Taken in 1981 makes him 41. 2 days usual return time so Kyra is rare. Camps for returnees cuz it is dangerous. NSA likes to experiment. No food taste. Insomnia. Heal quick. Don’t age at normal rate. Onward….plot must move or else!!

Sam:

The plot thickens! This book just keeps on getting better. It seems we have been introduced to the bad guys and I’m super pumped to see how this turns out! We are also introduced to Simon someone just like Kyra, I don’t know how I feel about him yet. And Tyler, that boy is just too cute for his own good!

the takingThe Taking by Kimberly Derting

To be published April 29, 2014 by HarperTeen

368 pages

goodreads

A flash of white light . . . and then . . . nothing.

When sixteen-year-old Kyra Agnew wakes up behind a Dumpster at the Gas ’n’ Sip, she has no memory of how she got there. With a terrible headache and a major case of déjà vu, she heads home only to discover that five years have passed . . . yet she hasn’t aged a day.

Everything else about Kyra’s old life is different. Her parents are divorced, her boyfriend, Austin, is in college and dating her best friend, and her dad has changed from an uptight neat-freak to a drunken conspiracy theorist who blames her five-year disappearance on little green men.

Confused and lost, Kyra isn’t sure how to move forward unless she uncovers the truth. With Austin gone, she turns to Tyler, Austin’s annoying kid brother, who is now seventeen and who she has a sudden undeniable attraction to. As Tyler and Kyra retrace her steps from the fateful night of her disappearance, they discover strange phenomena that no one can explain, and they begin to wonder if Kyra’s father is not as crazy as he seems. There are others like her who have been taken . . . and returned. Kyra races to find an explanation and reclaim the life she once had, but what if the life she wants back is not her own?

Character Interview

H. Lee :We are so happy to be introducing all of our lovely readers to the two main characters of the soon to be released book, The Taking by Kimberly Derting. Please welcome Kyra and Tyler. We know how busy you guys are so, this will be a short interview, let’s get started.

Welcome both of you. How have you both been doing?

Kyra: Sad, mostly. Still trying to figure out what to do since my life didn’t bother to wait for me while I was gone.

Tyler: Good. A little freaked out over what’s going on with Kyra, but mostly good.

 Mal: Kyra, please tell us your first thoughts after waking up behind the dumpster.

 Kyra: I was so confused. The last thing I remembered was fighting with my dad, and then . . . I was at the gas station and it was morning. So freaking weird.

 H. Lee: Tyler, when Kyra first came to you, did you have a hard time believing her? I mean this is a little much to take in.

 Tyler: When she first came back, I was mostly just shocked. We all thought she was . . . how do I say this? Dead. So by the time she told me what she suspected, I guess it didn’t seem as farfetched as you’d think, especially considering that she’d been gone for five years and just . . . reappeared the way she had.

Sam: I apologize, but I have to ask this….Kyra, is it not a little creepy that you are having some undeniable feelings for your ex boyfriends kid brother?

Kyra: Oh my gosh, totally! At first it was so hard to think of him as anything but the annoying kid I remembered. The thing was, he just wasn’t that same kid anymore. After a while, all I could see was Tyler and who he is now, which is this sweet guy who really pays attention when I’m talking, and doesn’t think I’m crazy when I tell him crazy things. *blushes*

 Tyler: I know this wasn’t my question, but, to be honest, didn’t bother me a bit! I’ve had a crush on Kyra ever since I was a kid; I just never expected to have a shot with her.

Mal: Kyra, Can you tell me a little about your father? He has quite the imagination.

Kyra: Um, yeah . . . he wasn’t always that way. He used to be so . . . normal. I mean, like boring, even. But either way, he’s still my dad. Know what I mean?

H. Lee: Sorry guys, we are all out of time. I thank both of you for joining us here today and wish you luck. (your gonna need it)

About Kimberly Derting

Kimberly is the author of the BODY FINDER series (HarperCollins), THE PLEDGE trilogy kim(Simon & Schuster), and THE TAKING trilogy (coming April 29th from HarperTeen). She lives in the Pacific Northwest, the ideal place to write anything dark or creepy…a gloomy day can set the perfect mood. She lives with her husband and their three beautiful (and often mouthy) children who provide an endless source of inspiration.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2755160.Kimberly_Derting

Website: http://www.kimberlyderting.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/kimberlyderting

amazon button

Pre-order The Taking today!

A HUGE THANK YOU TO MS. DERTING FOR TAKING THE TIME TO ANSWER OUR QUESTIONS!

Every Wednesday in the month of March, we will be posting our updated reviews and something new from the book! Next week, an excerpt!

AND, Look for a signed swag giveaway coming soon!!

See you next week!

Your NR Reviewers: H. Lee, Mal & Sam!

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

2 thoughts on “Book of the Month: The Taking by Kimberly Derting w/ Character Interview!

Talk to me!

