Movie Review: Divergent


Divergent-2014-Movie-Poster1

Bestselling YA Dystopian Book Adaptation

Genre: Sci-Fi, Action, Adventure, Romance

Release Date: March 21, 2014 (USA)

Watched: March 23, 2014

IMDB

So, I just watched Divergent yesterday with my friend Christine. I didn’t exactly have super high expectations for the film, because even though I really loved the book (it’s one of my top ten favorites), book-to-movie adaptations tend to disappoint.

91o13sPo7VL

I was pleasantly surprised! The movie far surpassed my expectations. I was on a thrill-ride from start to finish, just like when I was reading the book over a year ago.

The movie began by explaining the faction system, and I was really happy about how they were presented. They were just how I imagined them! It was really interesting seeing them in just distinctly different modes and colors of dress, as well as environments.

download

Shailene Woodley as Tris didn’t disappoint. She portrayed her character so accurately, with her transformation from the beginning as a ‘weak’ Abnegation girl at the beginning to a ‘strong’ Dauntless girl at the end.

99fa0bb015efaddccbbd69f1c234e7b9

Her family was on point, and Ansel Elgort as Caleb was pretty good at being a conflicted Abnegation-turned-Erudite.Maggie Q as Tori was perfect. She was flawlessly tough and unwilling to get involved at the beginning, to Tris’s adviser on concealing her divergence later. Zoe Kravitz was brilliant at being the quick-tongued Christina, her first friend in Dauntless.

533968_319312924862105_890032551_n

 

divergent

Theo James was the perfect Four. He played him better than I could have ever imagined. He oozed strength, leadership, mysteriousness, and enigma from every pore. He was also ridiculously hot and incurably swoon-able.

tumblr_mjpplvYxxx1r2xd2ko1_500

I was incredibly delighted by the initiation. It was just so accurate to the books, and I really enjoyed following Tris on the roller coaster that was the dauntless initiation experience, as well as watch her start off as the ‘weakest link’ to grow into a ‘fearless’, brave person of her own right. There were so many intense moments that I got such a thrill from watching, as I remembered from reading the book.

I think that Tris and Four’s romance developed as well as it was in the book, and I fangirled watching him slowly fall for her. I think that that was really well done.

I am so ecstatic that every single character  was portrayed to the core. Christina was both wonderfully and infuriatingly honest and candid, Will was humorously intelligent, Jeanine was creepily cold and logical, Eric was downright hateable, Peter was simply a douchebag, and so on.

I thoroughly relished Tris’ badassness in the fear sequences, as well as her bravery and intelligence that was revealed by her running after the train even when Eric said that she was done, and climbing up the top of the ferris wheel, and capturing the flag during capture the flag.

The last part was hard to watch, and I was amazed by how emotionally profound it was. It was extremely cool watching Tris and her mom fight side by side as a strong mother-daughter duo. I was hit deeply with emotion when Tris killed Will, when her mom died, when her dad died, and when Four almost killed Tris under the serum. I was blown away by Shailene’s incredible acting in all those scenes that were so tough for her character.

I relished in Tris and Four’s defeat of Jeanine’s serum even more than in the books. Just a million thumbs up for Shailene and Theo!!!

The ending was perectly just like in the book, so I was intensely glad about that. It started well and it ended better.

Now my only complaints about the movie:

They didn’t show Will and Christina being a couple!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What the flying !@#$%? How is Tris going to be racked with guilt in the next movie for not only killing her friend, but her good friend’s love? How is Christina supposed to fall out with Tris in the next movie? Will and Christina being a couple was IMPORTANT!!!

Ansel Elgort as Caleb. It was really hard to properly watch him be Tris’s brother because all I was thinking was, “Ewwwww. You two are going to be making out in your next movie, The Fault in Our Stars. Just, no.” *shudder*

No Edward and Myra. What were they thinking??????? Peter was supposed to stab Edward in the eye and make him become factionless for two reasons: We could see how horrible Peter really was, instead of just a harmless douchebag, and because it would be pivotal in the second book with Edward’s character and his involvement with the revolution.

The absence of Four’s advice to Tris after Al and the others almost threw down the ravine along the lines of this: “Keep safe, but when you get the chance, destroy them.” I was waiting for that. That was one of my best lines by Four in the book.

But all in all, I was so enthralled by the Divergent Movie that I’ll still give it a 9/10. I adored the ordinary and extraordinary acts of bravery that Tris exhibited, from being the first to jump, to speaking out against Eric’s cruelty with the knife throwing. I also fell completely in love with the landscape. The Chicago wasteland was the perfect scenery. My favorite scene was the ‘flying scene’. It was waaaaay better than I imagined it, and it was such an amazing joyride for Tris. I felt Tris’s charge of adrenaline. It was exhilarating and entrancing, and kept me (figuratively) at the edge of my seat!!!

Favorite Quotes

Divergent-Quotes-divergent-series-35580164-623-576

 

thumb

kele

Talk to me!

