Review: Come Together (The Cityscape Series #3) by Jessica Hawkins

Come Together (The Cityscape Series #3)
Jessica Hawkins
Kinshaw Press September 19th 2013
Pages 384
ISBN 9780615785134

goodreads  buy from amazon

With a single decision, Olivia Germaine’s fantasy has become a reality. Now she is faced with two commitments: one she must make and one she must break. But in order to accept a love she never thought possible, Olivia will have to let go of the broken past that defines her – and of deeply-rooted fears that could ruin everything.

Everything is what David Dylan wants to give her, and it’s what he wants in return. He must prove to Olivia that despite his playboy ways, he’s worth leaving behind the stable future her husband can offer her. David is a man who always gets what he wants . . . but this time he may be fighting for something unattainable.

Can Olivia escape the past that threatens to consume her?

And can David break through to her before it does?

I am NOT a fan of series so I was surprised I found myself hooked on Jessica Hawkins and The Cityscape Series, I am sad the series has reached an end, it was thoroughly enjoyed.

You could read Come Together as a standalone, however, I advise you read Come Undone and Come Alive to fully experience the scenario and characters. As a singular read Come Together wouldn’t make as much of an impact.

I realize infidelity is a serious matter, and by no means am I condoning betrayal of any type. Hawkins does not make light of infidelity, in fact she shows the agony and ecstasy an affair causes. So many people are divided by infidelity, judged, devastated which Hawkins brings to the forefront.

All three characters in this brutal love triangle deal with the consequences, outcome and the harsh realities infidelity causes. As we trail Olivia, Bill and David we read of their emotional, mental turmoil. Betrayal scratches at insecurities, trust and self esteem. Olivia, emotionally damaged from childhood, closed off, deals with guilt and ramifications from betraying her husband Bill. Bill a nice guy, a safety net, complacent, bitter, angry, trying to cling to the shards of his marriage and bond with Olivia. David, cure or disease, no matter what your opinion of this man he is honest and plays his cards sans poker face. Undoubtedly all involved have challenges and face tomorrow’s with endless questions.

Hawkins does a great job with the emotional burden, guilt and insecurities of infidelity. She also approaches topics as trust, parenthood, self loathing. You really feel as if you are part of this inner circle riding the wave of betrayal and sensing the shrapnel piercing each character. Love is a risk, and you never know how it will end as demonstrated in Come Together.

Come Together ended perfectly tying the entire series together. Very interesting view of infidelity, love and friendship from varying perspectives. Addictive series, have all three books handy, you’ll want to devour the series at one go.





Talk to me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s