Posted in 2013

Review: Slow Surrender (Struck by Lightning #1) by Cecilia Tan


17302291Slow Surrender
Cecilia Tan

Forever August 6th 2013
Pages 304
ISBN 9781455529278
Copy provided in exchange for an honest review
goodreads    buy from amazon

SUMMARY:
He pushes her sexual boundaries . . .

From the moment waitress Karina meets him in a New York bar, she knows James is different. Daring. Dominating. Though he hides his true identity from her, the mysterious, wealthy businessman anticipates her every desire and fulfills her secret fantasies. Awakened by his touch, Karina discovers a wild side she hadn’t known existed and nothing is off limits.

She aches for more . . .

What begins as an erotic game soon escalates to a power play that blurs the line between pleasure and pain. Even as she capitulates to James’s sensual demands, Karina craves more. She wants his heart, his soul. She wants his love . . . and she’ll break all the rules to get it.

MY THOUGHTS
Slow Surrender just wasn’t my taste. I’m sure the majority of readers will feel it suits their tastes.

 I wasn’t attracted to the characters and felt the whole scenario implausible. The bones of the story mimicked  Fifty Shades of Grey, which frankly I am tiring of. I’m also exhausted with the characters being cookie cutters. Wealthy, gorgeous, dominant older man, meets, young sexually inexperienced girl who opens the door to BDSM. So repetitive and I find it utterly boring.

Also this is book one in a trilogy so…needless to say the ending was a cliffhanger encouraging the reader to continue on with following books to have their curiosity and questions answered. Not a fan of being coerced into buying a series.

The writing was juvenile despite the fact the characters were adults, the dialog didn’t match their ages. Everything “felt” off to me.

I’m new to the erotica genre, and what little I have read I know what appeals to me. I have noticed the same characterization and narrative virtually similar. How about something new and fresh, how about a dose of reality with steamy sex? I know I sure would welcome the change.

Despite my feelings towards Slow Surrender give it a read and judge for yourself, I’m confident most of you will disagree with my take on the book.

2 stars

Mal

 

Talk to me!

