Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before


18051352

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

Jenny Han

Published April 15th 2014

 Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

368 Pages

goodreadsamazon button

Synopsis:

Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control in this heartfelt novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series.

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them… all at once?

Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

My Thoughts: 

I have been excited for this book since last summer! Everything about it intrigued me! The title is fantastic, the cover is gorgeous, the synopsis sounds fantastic, the overall design of the book is GORGEOUS, and the main character is half-Korean DIVERSITY IS SOMETHING YOUNG ADULT BOOKS NEEDS MORE OF!

Its just one of those books that just sounds like its going to be absolutely perfect, and it was! But for me it was just too perfect for my liking. Now don’t get me wrong I absolutely loved this book! And I fully intend to recommend it to anyone with a pulse, I just felt like Jenny Han went into this book wanting to be absolutely perfect, so she omitted things to keep it perfect.

If I found out that all the letters I wrote to all the boys I’ve ever loved got sent out, I would go absolutely crazy! I would be interrogating every person who lives in my house,yelling, screaming, throwing things, it would be bad. And you know what Lara Jean did, NOTHING. She didn’t even try to figure out how they got out. She should have know who sent them anyway, it was so obvious I knew who sent them, even before they were sent! Anybody who has siblings knows, if they tattle on you to your parent its going to be a fight! When Margot snitched on Lara Jean, all they did was cry. To say I was disappointed would be an understatement. That whole scene just felt so unrealistic, too perfect.

I also had a problem with Josh & Chris. These two characters come up a lot throughout the book, they are important to the story and they’re flat. I wish there was more development for these two, Chris was written in the story almost like an afterthought, and Josh is basically only defined as Margot’s. I just needed a little bit more from these two.

If Lara Jean had tried to find out who sent the letters, and if there was even a little bit more drama & tension between Margot and Lara Jean, and more development for the secondary characters I would have given this book five stars without batting an eye, but without them the book just kind of feels like a cheesy romantic comedy.

It really pains me to even have to say anything bad about this book because I had such an amazing time reading it! My copy has so many note flags marking the pages and chapters that I loved, and I can’t even tell you how many times I had to put the book down just because I was laughing so hard. I completely fell in love with Han’s writing style from the moment I read the little blurb on the back of the book; just reading it made me want to drop everything, curl up in bed, and read all night (which is what I did).

Lara Jean was both a character I loved and disliked. There were times when she came off as such a strong character and other times, majority actually she seemed so needy. There were many times when Josh or somebody else would say something to hurt her feelings or say something to offend her and she wouldn’t do anything. But I still loved her. I loved the person she was when she was with Peter! Peter made her a stronger character and I loved it! I loved the reasons behind Lara Jean’s letters, I loved the letters in general they were some of my favorite parts of the whole entire book

Peter Kavinsky was perfect! Okay, he wasn’t perfect but I loved him to pieces. He was such a vibrant, funny, and caring character. I loved him and Lara Jean together, I loved his letter the most also! I literally have no complaints when it comes to Peter, no I lied I have one complaint and its named Genevieve but other than that he’s perfect!

I LOVED this book, I just didn’t find it absolutely amazing, but I am eager to get my hands on the Sequel. I recommend it for anyone who wants a sweet, light, and funny contemporary read!

Favorite Quote:

“When someone’s been gone a long time, at first you save up all the things you want to tell them. You try to keep track of everything in your head. But it’s like trying to hold on to a fistful of sand: all the little bits slip out of your hands, and then you’re just clutching air and grit.”
4-stars
Sam
4 comments

  1. I was not at all planning to read this, but half-Korean?! I’ve never read a book with a half-Korean main character! I will now have to add this to my read list.

    Like

Talk to me!

