Alejandro’s Book Corner!

Alejandro's Book CornerThis is a new feature here at NightlyReading where Alejandro will give suggestions of books that he has found. This will include different genres featured each week. I hope you enjoy, please let him know your thoughts by posting a comment or visiting his Goodreads page:


I think it’s no surprise that I made a new pause in my cycle on detective novels due the death of Gabriel García Márquez, occurred on April 17th, to dedicate the literature post of this week to the famous Latin American writer. Gabriel García Márquez born in Colombia, initially devoted to journalism, but then he turn to write where he accumulated the amount of 11 novels, 37 short stories, one play, two screenplays, one autobiography, plus it has been compiled in 5 volumes his journalistic work. Among his numerous literary works, when published in 1967, “One Hundred Years of Solitude” put him on the map of Latin American authors, and 1982 to win the Nobel Prize for Literature, which ended to consolidate and catapult his fame worldwide, in where several of his works have been translated to 40 different languages. It was characterized by the use of “magic realism” in many of his works. One of his most used topic was about solitude. Besides the use of the fictional town of “Macondo” as the setting for several of his works, reaching about popularity of his native town Aracataca has become like the “Macondo” of real life , and also the Colombian Government rebuilt the house where he was born making it an museum to honor the writer and all his work.

One Hundred Years of Solitude

It is undoubtedly the masterpiece of the career of Gabriel García Márquez, which was published in 1967 and since then it has sold 30 million copies, translated into 40 languages ​​included in the list of the 100 best novels of all time several countries such as France and Norway. An interesting anecdote is that when García Márquez was trying to publish the novel, he presented it to Carlos Barral, director of the publishing house Seix Barral in Barcelona, ​​and that man told him “I think that this novel is not going to succeed, I think this novel does not work”. Today, the name of Gabriel Garcia Marquez is known around the world meanwhile not even on Spain is not recognized the name of Carlos Barral.

The book tells the story of the Buendia family for seven generations using as a framework the fictional town of Macondo.

Love in the Time of Cholera

This novel was published in 1985 and adapted to film in 2007 with the participation of Javier Bardem in the cast.

The book chronicles the lives of three characters from the late nineteenth and early twentieth century in the coastal city of Cartagena, close to the region of Río Magdalena.

Chronicle of a Death Foretold

Published in 1981, it is based on real events that occurred in 1951, but altering names and places, besides taking some creative liberties for the benefit of his own history. It is a novel of police procedural style. A newspaper in Spain included it among its list of the 100 best novels of the twentieth century on Spanish language.

The novel tells the reconstruction of events that took place 27 years before when a murder was not only committed, but also it was announced to all townspeople and yet no one prevented it.

Memories of my Melancholic Whores

This novel, published in 2004, was adapted to film by Mexican production including participation of Geraldine Chaplin in the cast.

The book tells the story of an old man who falls in love with a teenager.

Of Love and other Demons

This novel, published in 1994, was adapted for film in 2009, in a collaborative production between Colombia and Costa Rica.

The plot tells the story of a woman from a wealthy family who is taken since childhood to a convent after being bitten by a rabid dog, there to recover, however, a priest says it is owned and decides to exorcise her but during the long process the two characters fall in love.

The Autumn of the Patriarch

This book published in 1975 tells the story of a fictional dictator located in a non-determined country but clearly Latin nature, since the plot exemplifies a typical case of Latin American dictatorships.

In this, it is relevant to mention that Gabriel García Márquez was a friend of Fidel Castro, which caused controversy in some circles.

The General in his Labyrinth

This novel was published in 1989 and recounts the events of the last days of Simon Bolivar, during his trip from Bogota to the coast looking to leave America and go into exile in Europe.

No One writes to the Colonel

This novel published in 1961 is one of his best known books and rivaling in popularity with “One Hundred Years of Solitude”. The plot centers on an old retired colonel who is waiting for his pension which has not arrived.

Leaf Storm

Published in 1955, it is the first novel written by Gabriel García Márquez and it is where the author first introduced the famous fictional town of “Macondo”.

The plot focuses on three generations of a family, represented by a father, a daughter and a grandson, all connected with the burial of a man who was hated by all the townspeople.

See you next week!



Talk to me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s