Posted in 2014, May

Review: Only Everything


18475596

Only Everything

Kieran Scott

 May 6th 2014

Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

336 Pages

A copy was provided in exchange for an honest review

goodreadsamazon button

Synopsis:

High school romance is tough—even for a bona fide love goddess. Can Cupid succeed as a mortal matchmaker?

When Eros (aka Cupid) is expelled from Olympus for defying Zeus after falling in love with Orion, she is banished to what she believes to be hell. We call it New Jersey. If she ever wants to go back to the comforts of her old life, she will have to find love for three couples—without using her powers.

Eros, now calling herself True, immediately identifies her first project in Charlie and believes finding him love will be a piece of cake. Charlie is new at school and eager to break out of his old image of band geek, so it’s lucky for him when he falls in with the right crowd on his first day. But music is still his passion. That is, until he meets Katrina…

Katrina is floundering after the death of her father and takes refuge with a boy who, while not entirely supportive, will be there when she needs him, unlike her mother. Too bad True thinks any girl Charlie talks to is perfect for him. Can she get out of her own way and help Charlie and Katrina connect, or will she be stuck in New Jersey forever?

My Thoughts:

I knew I was going to love this one! The moment I read the synopsis I knew it was going to absolutely amazing and I was right!!

The book starts out with Eros being kicked off of Mount Olympus for falling in love with Orion, and the only way to get back to him she has to match three couples without any of her powers. Starting a new school is always hard, but starting school as a human when you’ve been a Goddess your whole entire life is rough so trying her hardest to get her assignment done and back to Mount Olympus, Eros quickly latches on to Charlie and makes him her first match.

The writing in this book was fantastic! I loved the way Scott entwined the storyline with Greek myths and gave the Gods and Goddess so much depth, it left me always wanting more. Scott has a way of making each and every character in the story stand out which I loved immensely. The only problem with the writing I had was sometimes a character would use and expression and I would just stop and stare at the page saying “who in the world says that anymore?” Other than that the writing was engaging and fast paced and overall very enjoyable.

Eros who goes by the name True now was in my opinion a very enjoyable character my favorite out of all of them actually. She was so funny and fierce and definitely not afraid to say what’s on her mind and stick up other people. But it was those traits that I loved so much about her that made her so unliked at school. It actually made me pretty sad that so many people didn’t like her, but I do admit she is a hard person to like. I loved how much she changed by the end of the book, she seemed so much more mature and a lot more likeable!

Charlie, Charlie, Charlie I really only had two emotions with him; I either wanted to shake the heck out of him or I want to give him a million high fives. He was such a sweetheart and I loved that he was the first person to be nice to True, But the boy was blind! I mean he was so caught up in not wanting to be the band geek anymore that he didn’t even see how much he was letting other people’s opinions change the amazing person he is. But I loved how he really truly found himself in the end and how he stood up for not only himself but Katrina.

Katrina is broken, she is struggling with the death of her father and looking for love in the wrong places. There were many times where I just wanted to give her hug because damn she needed one. A lot of her problems would’ve been solved if she had just opened her mouth and said all of the things she was feeling. Her mom was a little witch sometimes, and I feel bad for saying that because like Katrina she is struggling with the death of her Husband and most likely keeping all her emotions bottled up, but God the way she treated Katrina was heartbreaking.

I loved this book and can’t wait for the sequel to come out, especially after that ending! The ending to this book was such a cliffhanger that I’m still cussing about it, stupid Zeus! I recommend this book to anyone looking for a fun, sweet book, filled with mythology and a great cast of characters!

 

4-stars

Sam

Talk to me!

