Posted in 2014

Review: Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore


12483970

Dark Metropolis

Jaclyn Dolamore

 Disney-Hyperion

 June 17th 2014

 304 pages

A copy was provided in exchange for an honest review

goodreads    amazon button

Synopsis:

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder’s mother is cursed with a spell that’s driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city’s secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they’re not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don’t always seem to stay that way.

My Thoughts:

Unfortunately I just didn’t like this one. Which sucks because I was almost positive I was going to like it, there were aspects of it that I liked and others that I just couldn’t stand.

One thing I didn’t like was that there was no world building. For a story to work for me, it needs to have world building and this one lacked any and It felt it rushed. The story picks up immediately and it doesn’t let up. While I am a big fan of a fast paced storyline it can sometimes be hindering instead of beneficial. Because the storyline was so fast paced I didn’t make a connection to any of the characters; and I had so many questions and things I wanted to know more about that basically just got brushed aside without much information which I hated. I always wanted more, I wanted more world building, I wanted more explanations, I wanted more backstory and characterization.

Another thing I disliked was the lack of description. The main reason I picked this book up was because the synopsis said it was set in a “1930s-esque” world. The 1930s was such an interesting time period and I was looking forward to see how Dolamore was going to portray it, but she basically didn’t. To me at least, it didn’t feel 1930s at all, it felt modern. There were only a couple times where I would realize that it was not set in the present, that was a huge letdown for me. And the town which the book was set wasn’t even described, we didn’t even get a name. I just needed more description of the town, the music, fashion, personality,  little things like that to help immerse myself into the world.

For me the characters were lackluster and forgettable, I never connected with them and frankly didn’t really care what happened to them. Freddy really annoyed, I wanted to slap some sense into him a couple of times. Thea needed a little more backbone but all in all she was an alright character. Nan was my favorite out of all of them, because she was tough and not afraid to ask the right questions no matter the consequences.

I would be lying if I said the core storyline wasn’t interesting, because it is! This book does have an interesting take on necromancy and it also has magic, propaganda, and revolutionaries! And I did like the twists and turns this book had, and piecing the puzzle together along with the characters was fairly entertaining. But in the end, this book was just not for me.

1 star

 

Sam

 

Talk to me!

