Review: Mirror X by Karri Thompson


mirror xMirror X (The Van Winkle Project #1) by Kerri Thompson

Published on June 30, 2014 by Entangled Teen.

318 pages

E-ARC from publisher in exchange of an honest review.

Cassie Dannacher wakes up in a hospital over 1,000 years into the future after her space capsule is retrieved from space. She soon learns that 600 years prior to her arrival, the earth was struck by a plague, killing over half of the world’s population. Naïve and desperate, Cassie, who longs for home and is having trouble adjusting to the new, dictatorial 31st century government, is comforted by Michael Bennett, the 20-year old lead geneticist at the hospital where she was revived.

But why is Cassie in genetics’ hospital in the first place, and why do several of the people around her seem so familiar, including Travel Carson, the hot and edgy boy she is fated to meet? Soon she discovers there is a sinister answer to all of her questions – and that they want something from Cassie that only she can give.

My Thoughts

I do not think that I have been so frustrated with a book that I had been reading like ever! But it was a good frustrating!!! I could seriously feel my blood pressure rise while reading and had to put it down several times because I wanted to just jump on into the story myself and commit murder on a few characters! This book made me feel something and even though it was anger, it left me with a story that I definitely will not forget due to all the mixed up emotions that I had while reading!

Cassie wakes up 1000 years in the future when she is informed that the world that she knew is long gone and everyone that she loves is no longer alive. This is where I first starting having the heart palpitations but believe me…this was only the beginning! Cassie is literally kept a prisoner that is expected to just do what the government tells her even though their plan is so sinister!

I really enjoyed Cassie as a character and was enamored of her strength. If I had to go through even an ounce of what she did in this book, I definitely would have given up. I also love the fact that even though she didn’t want certain things to happen, she welcomed them with open arms because that is just what you are supposed to do and never in the book did she even have a thought of giving that up. (I cannot reveal what I am exactly speaking of because then you will all be spoiled!)

Next we have Michael and I liked him at first but the more the book went on, the more I was not so sure of him???? He had all these secrets that he just kept keeping from Cassie which really was annoying and added to my anger. The biggest ones were revealed right at the end and I wish that Cassie would have given him the boot! I just adored Travel and thought he was the man for Cassie:( He was sweet and really tried to make her happy!

I could probably go on and on about this book but that will deter all of you from reading it….so, go right now and hit up Amazon! I guarantee that you will be as frustratingly happy with it as I am! AND then, come on back and discuss it with me! I am dying to chat with someone about it! I can’t wait for the next in the series!!!!

5-stars

h.lee

 

Talk to me!

