Stone Cold Touch (The Dark Elements #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout


17455815

Stone Cold Touch (The Dark Elements #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Published by Harlequin Teen (August 11, 2014)

Every touch has its price

Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task for a seventeen-year-old who’s pretty sure things can’t get worse. Her impossibly gorgeous best friend, Zayne, is forever off-limits thanks to the mysterious powers of her soul-stealing kiss. The Warden clan that has always protected her is suddenly keeping dangerous secrets. And she can barely think about Roth, the wickedly hot demon prince who understood her in ways no one else could.

But sometimes rock bottom is only the beginning. Because suddenly Layla’s powers begin to evolve, and she’s offered a tantalizing taste of what has always been forbidden. Then, when she least expects it, Roth returns, bringing news that could change her world forever. She’s finally getting what she always wanted, but with hell literally breaking loose and the body count adding up, the price may be higher than Layla is willing to pay…

How I Feel About It: 

965

I couldn’t put this book down. When I first started reading this series (Check out Heather’s review for book #1 White Hot Kiss if you haven’t yet) I was very skeptical. A half demon/half gargoyle? How does that work?! I don’t know how she did it but Ms. Armentrout really did it. There were a couple of questions that needed to be answered at the beginning of Stone Cold Touch and I’m so thankful that she did not take her sweet time getting to them. For instance: What happened to Roth? Is Roth alive? What does this all mean? All of these and more are answered within a few chapters which made me a happy lady.

What I Loved:

I am absolutely raving over the ending. I accidentally spoiled it for myself by flipping to the back to see if she had an excerpt from Roth’s POV like she did in White Hot Kiss. When I got there I saw the very last sentence which seriously sums up the entire book. DO NOT DO WHAT I DID. Yes, there is an excerpt. No, it wasn’t Roth’s POV. It’s not worth flipping to that page to spoil the plot. However, even knowing that one sentence, I was still very surprised with how it all led up to that moment.

Bambi! Nuff said.

Danika, which was a nice surprise. And Stacey too! I was happy we got a little more from both of them.

Roth. Ugh, Roth. I’m sorry, but I’m all about Team Roth. There is a thought that Layla has when she is with him that made me want to shake her and say, ‘YES! SEE! THAT’S WHY YOU SHOULD BE WITH HIM. YOU ALREADY KNOW IT DEEP DOWN.” Alas, we still had a weird go-between with Roth and Zayne. Which brings me to…

What I Didn’t Love: 

Zayne. Now, don’t get me wrong..he’s a nice guy and all. I just couldn’t see past him being her sort-of brother. It weirded me out so much. Every time they had a romantic scene I was cringing. I’m not big on love triangle/situations to begin with, but this one was clearly laid out for me and I didn’t feel like Zayne needed to be a part of it. Granted, it was the only way to keep Layla’s story moving.. so you can have this one, Armentrout.

There was a lot of down-time. For as much action as there was in the first book, there wasn’t nearly as much in this one. The action that was there was fantastic! There is this whole scene in a warehouse that had my blood pumping! But, there were quite a few chapters that probably could have been cut out or shortened.

All In All:

I thought that this book was a great escape. I’m extremely excited for where the story is going and it pains me that I have to wait until July for book #3 to come out!

So excited to be a part of NightlyReading!

Tara

One comment

Talk to me!

