Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee


11500217

Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee

Published by Feral Dream (May 21, 2011)

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

How I Feel About It: 

321

First and foremost: the angel theme is definitely not “overplayed” and “last season” when stories like this one exist. I read this book based on a recommendation from someone that I was friends with in high school, who I have seen once since then. I figured if she was willing to reach out and promote this book to someone she hasn’t spoken to in 9 years then it must REALLY be a good book. It definitely did not disappoint.

The story starts off with Penryn as the narrator (1st person) and is extremely descriptive. I am always thankful when an author decides to use a non-fiction city and has actually been there. For me, it makes the story more realistic. There is a lot of traveling as time goes on and I’m grateful that in-between we have lots of dialogue. I always get very confused in other stories when the characters fall in love but we only “see” them talking for like ten minutes of the book. There is definitely a dialogue that blossoms a nice friendship throughout this story.

What I Loved: 

Penryn. She reminded me a little bit of Katniss from The Hunger Games. She is fiercely protective of herself and her family, which I admire. She is also very determined and quite snarky. I loved the little side-thoughts that she had. It made me feel closer to her.

Raffe. I love that he never broke character. He was consistent throughout the book and my-oh-my how I wish we could get a little POV from him. Lord only knows what side-thoughts he was having. Also, his name is the Wrath of God. Awesome.

The travelling, as mentioned above. I was happy that it wasn’t like, ‘oh hey, we’re here!’ and it also wasn’t ‘we’re stuck in the woods for 3 months’ (I’m looking at you, Rowling.) There was a steady pace throughout.

The Archangel Sword. Not sure why, but I loved that thing.

Penryn’s self-defense. Ee was UH-MAY-ZING with her knowledge of self-defense. It was honestly refreshing. Each fight scene made sense visually and was within reason. I was never wondering how the main character actually won the fight.

The actual book. If you’re not an e-reader like me, you’ll appreciate the soft pages and nice font size.

What I Didn’t Love: 

Paige. By the end of the book you’ll know why. I don’t want to spoil it.

Penryn’s mom. Mostly because I have SO many questions about her. I have a feeling there is going to be a really big reveal regarding her and I’m antsy about it.

Sometimes the dialogue. It could be very childish at times. I realize this is a YA novel but occasionally I just wanted to see a curse word. 17 year old’s curse.

All in All: 

I am very happy with this book. I ran out and bought the sequel, World After, immediately after I finished. I’m hesitant to start it because I know the third book will not be available till May. I’m SO happy that I didn’t stick my nose up at this one and tried it. It was totally worth it.

I’m think going to suck it up this week and read book #2.

Tara

3 comments

Talk to me!

